Alaska License Requirements

Get an understanding of mortgage lending and insurance state licensing and continuing education requirements

Alaska Mortgage License Requirements

Learn about the Alaska mortgage education requirements for mortgage licensing.

In the state of Alaska, mortgage loan originators are required to:

  1. Complete a Criminal Background Check (CBC).
  2. Authorize a credit report through the NMLS that demonstrates financial responsibility.
  3. Fulfill all state and federal education requirements as designated by your state agency.
  4. Take and pass a National Test.
  5. Sponsorship: Mortgage Loan Originators may not be sponsored by, or perform mortgage origination activities for, more than one Alaska Mortgage Broker/Lender licensee simultaneously.
  6. Regulatory History: Applicant may not have had a mortgage loan originator license, or other mortgage related license, revoked in any governmental jurisdiction. 
  • Alaska NMLS Pre-Licensing Education Requirements:

    New state-licensed MLOs are required to complete 20 hours of NMLS-approved education. This includes:

    • 3 hours of federal law
    • 3 hours of ethics
    • 2 hours of non-traditional mortgage lending training
    • 12 hours of electives 

    Alaska Continuing Education Requirements:

    State-licensed MLOs are required to complete 8 hours of NMLS-approved mortgage education annually beginning the year they are licensed (unless PE was completed in the same year). This includes:

    • 3 hours of federal law
    • 2 hours of ethics
    • 2 hours of non-traditional mortgage lending
    • 1 hour of electives

    MLOs are advised that to comply with the SAFE Act’s “successive years” rule, they may not take the same CE course two years in a row.

    Alaska Mortgage Licensing:

    NMLS Resources: