Courses /Continuing Education

NMLS-approved mortgage continuing education

Complete your mortgage loan originator (MLO) continuing education courses to renew your mortgage license.

Shop CE courses
NMLS-approved continuing education for mortgage loan officers (MLO)

Browse courses by state

NMLS-approved continuing education training

Multiple course formats available

All courses meet minimum SAFE Act requirements

Looking for a 7 hour or 8 hour course?

Each year, all licensed MLOs are required to complete at least 8 hours of NMLS-approved continuing education annually, including any state-specific requirements.

8 hour course (text)

8 hours of national CE

Online self-paced text format

Register now

8 hour course (video)

8 hours of national CE

Online self-paced video format

Register now

7 hour course (text)

7 hours of national CE

Online self-paced text format

Register now

7 hour course (video)

7 hours of national CE

Online self-paced text format

Register now
NMLS-approved new license training for mortgage loan officers

Available course formats

Absorb concepts faster by choosing a format that best suits your learning style.

Online self-paced video (Video CE)

Offers the exact same content as standard online self-paced courses, but instead you’ll watch and listen as a recorded instructor walks you through course content. This is the fastest way to take your course and only requires that you press play on each video. Learn more

Online self-paced (OSP)

This is a true self-paced course format. You will read and work through a text-based course independently without help from an instructor.


Our fast-paced webinars are taught by a live instructor. You'll have the chance to interact and ask questions.

Not sure what training you need?

Our Smart Search course selector will tell you exactly what CE to take.

Find CE courses

Continuing education explained

Important details to know about continuing education for licensed Mortgage Loan Originators.

MLO continuing education requirements

The NMLS states that all MLOs must comply with the SAFE Act (The Secure and Fair Enforcement for Mortgage Licensing Act), which requires MLOs with a state license to complete continuing education each year. To start your continuing education training, you will need your NMLS number.

To meet your mortgage CE requirements and maintain your mortgage license status, you are required to complete a minimum 8 hours of NMLS-approved education covering these topics:

  • 3 hours of federal law and regulations
  • 2 hours of ethics, including instruction on fraud, consumer protection, and fair lending
  • 2 hours of non-traditional mortgage lending
  • 1 hour of undefined "electives" on mortgage origination

Continuing education deadlines

The NMLS recommends completing your 2024 CE according to these renewal deadlines:

  • SMART Deadline: December 6, 2024
  • At-Risk-To-Miss Deadline: December 13, 2024
  • Guaranteed To Miss Deadline: December 27, 2024

Some states have earlier recommended deadlines. To find your state-specific CE deadlines for 2024, visit our CE deadline page.

State-specific CE requirements

Some states require their own state-specific hourly requirements in addition to national hours for continuing education, while other states do not require any state-specific CE hours.

For example, Florida requires a 7 hour national CE course and 1 hour of Florida state-specific training. Conversely, Colorado only requires an 8 hour national CE course to keep an MLO license active in their state.

If you are licensed in multiple states, make sure to review your state requirements and follow your them closely.

Finding the right courses

It can be a hassle finding the right training to take to meet your CE hourly requirements. That's why we created Smart Search, our intuitive course selector tool. Simply select the state(s) you are licensed in and a required list of NMLS-approved CE courses will display based on your selection.

Shop continuing education

Common questions

We've got answers to the most commonly asked continuing education questions.

Every state requires at least 8 hours of national NMLS-approved continuing education. Some states require additional hours specific to the state. To find out which continuing education courses you are required to take, use our Smart Search course selector, where you can enter the states you need CE for, and we’ll show you the exact courses needed to meet the minimum hourly requirements for the states you have chosen.

The SAFE Act does not permit licensed MLOs to complete the same course in two successive renewals. Fortunately, we create new courses every year, meaning you'll always get the most up-to-date education and you will never have to worry about whether or not you're meeting the "successive years" rule.

Many states allow for a reinstatement period, typically from January 1 to February 28. During this reinstatement period, you must complete continuing education specifically approved by the NMLS as “Late CE”. Our late CE courses are NMLS-approved and are available for every state.

The NMLS requires all completed hours to be "banked" with the NMLS. OnCourse Learning, as your NMLS-approved course provider, will submit your completion record to the NMLS within seven days after you have finished your coursework and your session has ended. The NMLS charges $1.50 per credit hour to "bank" your credit hours.

You can visit the NMLS website for assistance or call 855-665-7123, press option 2, then press option 1, to speak with an NMLS representative.

View more frequently asked questions
Helpful Links
  1. Mortgage continuing education deadlines for 2024
  2. State requirements for continuing education