Iowa License Requirements

Get an understanding of mortgage lending and insurance state licensing and continuing education requirements

Course Search

Iowa Mortgage License Requirements

Learn about the Iowa mortgage education requirements for mortgage licensing.

In the state of Iowa, mortgage loan originators are required to:

    1. Complete a Criminal Background Check (CBC).
    2. Authorize a credit report through the NMLS.
    3. Fulfill all state and federal education requirements as designated by Iowa.
    4. Take and pass the National Test.

Iowa NMLS Pre-Licensing Education Requirements:

New state-licensed MLOs are required to complete 20 hours of NMLS-approved education. This includes:

  • 3 hours of federal law
  • 3 hours of ethics
  • 2 hours of non-traditional mortgage lending training
  • 12 hours of electives

NOTE:  PE education must be completed within 3 years of new or subsequent license application

 

Iowa Continuing Education Requirements:

The continuing education deadline in Iowa is December 1, 2019.
Learn More

State-licensed MLOs are required to complete 8 hours of NMLS-approved mortgage education annually beginning the year they are licensed (unless PE was completed in the same year). This includes:

  • 3 hours of federal law
  • 2 hours of ethics
  • 2 hours of non-traditional mortgage lending
  • 1 hour of electives

MLOs are advised that to comply with the SAFE Act’s “successive years” rule, they may not take the same CE course two years in a row.

Iowa Mortgage Licensing:

NMLS Resources: