Maryland License Requirements

Get an understanding of mortgage lending and insurance state licensing and continuing education requirements

Course Search

Maryland Mortgage License Requirements

Learn about the Maryland mortgage education requirements for mortgage licensing.

In the state of Maryland, mortgage loan originators are required to:

    1. Complete a Criminal Background Check (CBC).
    2. Authorize a credit report through the NMLS.
    3. Fulfill all state and federal education requirements as designated by your state agency.
    4. Take and pass a National Test.
    5. No revocations of a mortgage loan originator license in any jurisdiction.
    6. No convictions of, guilty or nolo contendere pleas –
    7. to a felony of any kind in a domestic, foreign or military court during the 7-year period preceding the date of the application for licensing.
    8. to a felony involving an act of fraud, dishonesty, breach of trust, or money laundering, in a domestic, foreign or military court at any time preceding the date of the application.
    9. Financial responsibly.
    10. Applicant must demonstrate character and general fitness sufficient to command the confidence of the community and to warrant a determination that the applicant will operate as a MLO in a lawful, honest, fair, and efficient manner.
    11. Sponsorship by the applicant’s employer.

Maryland NMLS Pre-Licensing Education Requirements:

New state-licensed MLOs are required to complete 20 hours of NMLS-approved education. This includes:

  • 3 hours of federal law
  • 3 hours of ethics
  • 2 hours of non-traditional mortgage lending
  • 7 hours of electives
  • 5 hours of Maryland state-specific education

Maryland Continuing Education Requirements:

State-licensed MLOs are required to complete 8 hours of NMLS-approved mortgage education annually beginning the year they are licensed (unless PE was completed in the same year). This includes:

  • 3 hours of federal law
  • 2 hours of ethics
  • 2 hours of non-traditional mortgage lending
  • 1 hour of Maryland state-specific education

MLOs are advised that to comply with the SAFE Act’s “successive years” rule, they may not take the same CE course two years in a row. 

Maryland Mortgage Licensing:

NMLS Resources:

Maryland Mortgage License Requirements

Learn about the Maryland insurance education requirements for insurance licensing.

Maryland Insurance Continuing Education FAQs

  • What are the requirements to renew a Maryland insurance producer license? Resident licensees holding a major line of authority, with the exception of Title who are required to complete 16 hours, are required to complete 24 hours of continuing education, including three hours in ethics, every two years.Licensees must take CE courses that pertain to the lines of insurance that they hold on their producer license(s). Licensees, who hold just Life and Health, must take the total CE hours in L/H courses. Licensees, who hold just Property and Casualty, must take the total CE hours in P/C courses. Licensees, who hold a mix of Life, Health, Property and Casualty lines of insurance, must take 25 percent of the total hours in each category - L/H and P/C. For example, a licensee who needs 24 hours and who is authorized for both Life and Health, and Property and Casualty must take a minimum of 6 hours in L/H courses and a minimum of 6 hours in P/C courses. The remaining hours can be taken in either category. Title producers are expected to fulfill their CE requirements by taking title insurance CE courses.
  • Are there required courses if I want to sell or do sell annuities, long term care or flood insurance? Yes. There are additional courses required if you sell or wish to sell annuities, flood insurance or long-term care products. All states require licensees who sell flood insurance to complete a one-time course that is at least three hours in length.  Several states require courses to represent annuity products and long-term care products.
  • Are there requirements to complete CE courses pertaining to the line of authority a licensee holds? Yes. Licensees must take CE courses that pertain to the lines of insurance that they hold on their producer license(s). Licensees, who hold just Life and Health, must take the total CE hours in L/H courses. Licensees, who hold just Property and Casualty, must take the total CE hours in P/C courses. Licensees, who hold a mix of Life, Health, Property and Casualty lines of insurance, must take 25 percent of the total hours in each category - L/H and P/C. For example, a licensee who needs 24 hours and who is authorized for both Life and Health, and Property and Casualty must take a minimum of 6 hours in L/H courses and a minimum of 6 hours in P/C courses. The remaining hours can be taken in either category. Title producers are expected to fulfill their CE requirements by taking title insurance CE courses.
  • Can I take the same Insurance CE courses more than once? Yes, but you will not receive credit if the course is repeated within the same renewal period. If the course is taken during two consecutive renewal periods, there must be at least 6 months between the course completion dates to receive credit.
  • Is there a requirement to take an Ethics course? Yes. A minimum of 3 hours of Ethics must be taken each renewal. The 3 hours will count towards the total 24 hours required to renew.
  • How do OnCourse Learning’s Maryland Insurance continuing education courses work? OnCourse Learning’s approved Maryland Insurance continuing education courses are offered online for your convenience. Once enrolled, your Table of Contents will serve as your roadmap for completing the course. You will be given access to lesson material, multimedia reviews, quizzes and a final exam. To demonstrate course completion, you will need to read the lesson material, pass all quizzes and pass the final exam. 
  • Will I receive a certificate of completion immediately after completing the coursework? Yes. Upon completion of all course elements, you will immediately receive your certificate of completion. You may access your certificate of completion at any time by logging into your account.
  • Once I enroll, when can I access my Maryland Insurance continuing education courses? Upon enrolling, you will have immediate access to your coursework. Simply log-in using your e-mail address and password and you can get started immediately. Best of all, you will have access to your course 24/7 and from any computer with an internet connection. You can work at home, at the office, wherever is the most convenient for you!
  • What if I have questions once I enroll in the continuing education courses? OnCourse Learning’s attentive customer service staff and knowledgeable instructors are available to answer any questions you may have. We are available Monday-Friday, 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. PST at 1-800-299-2207.

Maryland Insurance Licensing

For more information, please contact the Maryland Insurance Administration at:

  • Maryland Insurance Administration
  • 200 St. Paul Place, Suite 2700 Baltimore, MD 21202
  • Phone: 1-800-492-6116
  • Websitewww.mdinsurance.state.md.us