Massachusetts License Requirements

Get an understanding of mortgage lending and insurance state licensing and continuing education requirements

Course Search

Massachusetts Mortgage License Requirements

Learn about the Massachusetts mortgage education requirements for mortgage licensing.

In the state of Massachusetts, mortgage loan originators are required to:

  1. Complete a federal and state Criminal Background Check (CBC).
  2. Authorize a credit report through the NMLS.
  3. Fulfill all state and federal education requirements as designated by your state agency.
  4. Take and pass a National Test.

Massachusetts NMLS Pre-Licensing Education Requirements:

New state-licensed MLOs are required to complete 20 hours of NMLS-approved education. This includes:

  • 3 hours of federal law
  • 3 hours of ethics
  • 2 hours of non-traditional mortgage lending
  • 9 hours of electives
  • 3 hours of Massachusetts state-specific education

Note: Individuals who fail to maintain an active, valid license for at least 3 years must satisfactorily complete the twenty (20) hours of pre-licensing education within the three (3) year period immediately preceding the date of application for licensure.


Massachusetts Continuing Education Requirements:

State-licensed MLOs are required to complete 8 hours of NMLS-approved mortgage education annually beginning the year they are licensed (unless PE was completed in the same year). This includes:

  • 3 hours of federal law
  • 2 hours of ethics
  • 2 hours of non-traditional mortgage lending
  • 1 hour of Massachusetts state-specific education

MLOs are advised that to comply with the SAFE Act’s “successive years” rule, they may not take the same CE course two years in a row.

Massachusetts Mortgage Licensing: 

NMLS Resources: