Massachusetts NMLS-Approved Mortgage Continuing Education

Get started with your Massachusetts mortgage loan officer CE online course today

Course Search
Choose the Massachusetts NMLS-approved mortgage continuing education course that is right for you

Our NMLS-approved Massachusetts mortgage loan originator (MLO) CE courses help you stay licensed and compliant. Our Massachusetts 8-hour mortgage SAFE comprehensive course is designed specifically for Massachusetts mortgage loan officers and is offered as an online, self-paced or audio course. 

8 Hour MA SAFE Comprehensive: Maintaining Mortgage Industry Awareness

SKU : 4303MA19000A00

Credit Hours | 8

Category | Comprehensive

$129.00

More Info

Maintaining Mortgage Industry Awareness provides a review of relevant issues facing mortgage loan originators today, specifically those outlined by NMLS as required topics for continuing education. Students will examine provisions of the Truth-in-Lending Act, the TILA-RESPA Integrated Disclosure Rule, and the Qualified Mortgage Rule, including issues related to considering the triggers, tolerances, and thresholds that enable loan originators to determine when disclosures are due and what information is required. In addition, students will take a look at the Real Estate Settlement Procedures Act, specifically rules related to lead agreements, marketing services agreements, co-marketing, desk licensing agreements, and affiliated business arrangements. Students will also review several nontraditional mortgage products, such as adjustable-rate mortgages and fixed-rate mortgages with terms of 15 and 40 years. Finally, students will review mortgage laws and regulations specific to the state of Massachusetts. This course is NMLS-approved for eight hours of continuing education required for Massachusetts mortgage loan originators, as specified by the S.A.F.E. Mortgage Licensing Act and Massachusetts law. Annual S.A.F.E. Act continuing education requirements for Massachusetts loan originators include three hours of federal law, two hours of ethics, two hours of nontraditional mortgage lending, and one hour of Massachusetts-specific laws and regulations, for a total of eight hours.

1 Hour MA SAFE: Massachusetts Mortgage Law Updates

SKU : 4303MA19500A00

Credit Hours | 1

Category | Elective

$39.00

More Info

This course will focus on the laws and rules that regulate mortgage loan originators, lenders, and brokers doing business in Massachusetts. Throughout this course, students will review fictionalized scenarios based on real regulatory decisions made by the Division of Banks in recent months, paired with a discussion of the relevant sections of Massachusetts law and regulations. In Module 1, students will review standards for maintaining a license and other required conduct related to fees and charges, advertising, disclosures, recordkeeping, and high-cost loans. In Module 2, students will look at prohibited conduct for licensees, as well as disciplinary action that may be taken when violations of the law occur. Students will also review provisions of the law related to reverse mortgages.

 

 

Your Success is Our #1 Priority

OnCourse Learning empowers aspiring mortgage loan originators (MLOs) and seasoned mortgage loan officers to take their learning experience to the next level. Get and maintain your NMLS license with:

  • NMLS approved mortgage pre-licensing, continuing education and late CE courses
  • NMLS test prep tools to help you pass your NMLS license exam
  • Over 20 years of mortgage education experience

We’ve helped over 300,000 mortgage brokers begin and advance their careers. Get started today!

Massachusetts Mortgage License Requirements

Learn about the Massachusetts mortgage education requirements for mortgage licensing.

In the state of Massachusetts, mortgage loan originators are required to:

    1. Complete a federal and state Criminal Background Check (CBC).
    2. Authorize a credit report through the NMLS.
    3. Fulfill all state and federal education requirements as designated by your state agency.
    4. Take and pass a National Test.

Massachusetts NMLS Pre-Licensing Education Requirements:

New state-licensed MLOs are required to complete 20 hours of NMLS-approved education. This includes:

  • 3 hours of federal law
  • 3 hours of ethics
  • 2 hours of non-traditional mortgage lending
  • 9 hours of electives
  • 3 hours of Massachusetts state-specific education

Massachusetts Continuing Education Requirements:

State-licensed MLOs are required to complete 8 hours of NMLS-approved mortgage education annually beginning the year they are licensed (unless PE was completed in the same year). This includes:

  • 3 hours of federal law
  • 2 hours of ethics
  • 2 hours of non-traditional mortgage lending
  • 1 hour of Massachusetts state-specific education

MLOs are advised that to comply with the SAFE Act’s “successive years” rule, they may not take the same CE course two years in a row.

Massachusetts Mortgage Licensing: 

NMLS Resources: