Michigan License Requirements

Get an understanding of mortgage lending and insurance state licensing and continuing education requirements

Course Search

Michigan Mortgage License Requirements

Learn about the Michigan mortgage education requirements for mortgage licensing.

In the state of Michigan, mortgage loan originators are required to:

  • Complete a Criminal Background Check (CBC).
    • Fingerprints will be submitted through NMLS for FBI criminal background check.
    • Criminal background check results will be available to the State.
    • The criminal background check fee is $36.25.
  • Authorize a credit report through the NMLS including the credit report fee is $15.
  • Fulfill all state and federal education requirements as designated by your state agency.
  • Take and pass a National Test.
  • Surety Bond: Applicants must provide a surety bond. There are two surety bond options:
    • Individual MLO Surety Bond – form FIS-2135
    • Company MLO Surety Bond – form FIS-2137

Each bond form is located on agency website www.michigan.gov/difs and includes specific instructions for completion, including coverage amounts.

Michigan NMLS Pre-Licensing Education Requirements:

New state-licensed MLOs are required to complete 20 hours of NMLS-approved education. This includes:

  • 3 hours of federal law
  • 3 hours of ethics
  • 2 hours of non-traditional mortgage lending
  • 10 hours of electives
  • 2 hours of Michigan state-specific education

NOTE:  PE education must be completed within 3 years of new or subsequent license application

Michigan Continuing Education Requirements:

State-licensed MLOs are required to complete 8 hours of NMLS-approved mortgage education annually beginning the year they are licensed (unless PE was completed in the same year). This includes:

  • 3 hours of federal law
  • 2 hours of ethics
  • 2 hours of non-traditional mortgage lending
  • 1 hour of electives

MLOs are advised that to comply with the SAFE Act’s “successive years” rule, they may not take the same CE course two years in a row.

Michigan Mortgage Licensing:

NMLS Resources:

Michigan Insurance License Requirements

Learn about the Michigan insurance education requirements for insurance licensing.

To obtain a resident Michigan insurance producer license you must complete the following steps:

  • Complete state-approved prelicense education. Upon completion of the prelicense education you will be issued a Certificate of Completion for each line of authority completed. The certificate is valid for 12 months from the completion date and the corresponding examination must be completed during this 12-month period. The required education hours per line of authority are:
    • 20 hours for a life license
    • 20 hours for a health license
    • 20 hours for a property license
    • 20 hours for a casualty license
  • File an Electronic Resident Licensing (ERL) application through the National Insurance Producer Registry (NIPR) website. An application is good for six months from entry into the database. For questions relating to electronic application submission, contact NIPR Customer Service at 816-783-8468.
  • Pass the PSI administered state licensing exam with a minimum score of 75%. To register for the exam, you must first complete the prelicense education and present the certificate of completion at the test center.

Michigan Insurance State Exam Information:

Michigan insurance license applicants must pass a computerized license examination administered by PSI, a national testing firm. To schedule an exam date and time, you can call them toll-free at (800) 733-9267 or visit their website. You must complete your prelicense education prior to scheduling your examination. You are encouraged to reserve your exam date at least three or four business days prior.

Take with you to the test center on examination day the following:

  1. Your confirmation number
  2. Proof of Completion of Prelicensing training
  3. Two forms of current, government-issued signature identification, one of which must be photo-bearing and one must include your SSN.
  4. Failing score report (if retaking an exam)

For more information, read PSI's complete Candidate Information Booklet, which includes details of all licensing requirements, exam reservation guidelines, and a list of all PSI test center locations and hours of operation. Scheduled test dates vary widely by location.

Michigan Insurance Licensing FAQs:

  • Is OnCourse Learning’s program approved to satisfy the education requirements needed to become licensed as a Michigan Insurance Agent? OnCourse Learning’s Michigan Insurance programs are approved by the Michigan Department of Insurance and Financial Services to satisfy the education requirements to be licensed as a Michigan Insurance Producer. All approved courses are listed on the Michigan Department of Insurance and Financial Services website for verification.
  • What do OnCourse Learning’s Michigan Insurance programs include? OnCourse Learning’s online Michigan Insurance programs include printable lessons, multi-media reviews, interactive exercises, quizzes and comprehensive exams. All the tools you need to prepare for the state exam are included! 
  • Do I need to enroll in an exam prep course to prepare for my Michigan Insurance Producer licensing exam? OnCourse Learning’s Michigan Insurance programs include everything you need to pass your state licensing exam. However, if you want extra exam prep tools, OnCourse Learning online exam prep toolkits include additional practice exams, online flashcards, and recorded test-taking tips! 
  • Once I enroll, when can I start studying for my Michigan Insurance Producer license? Upon enrolling, you will have immediate access to your coursework. Simply log-in using your e-mail address and password and you can get started immediately. Best of all, you will have access to your course 24/7 and from any computer with an internet connection. You can work at home, at the office, wherever is the most convenient for you!
  • What if I have questions once I enroll in the Michigan Insurance Producer program? OnCourse Learning’s attentive customer service staff and knowledgeable instructors are available to answer any questions you may have. We are available Monday-Friday, 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. PST at 1-800-299-2207.

Michigan Insurance Licensing: More Information

For more information, please contact the Michigan Department of Insurance and Financial Services at: