Minnesota License Requirements

Get an understanding of mortgage lending and insurance state licensing and continuing education requirements

Course Search

Minnesota Mortgage License Requirements

Learn about the Minnesota mortgage education requirements for mortgage licensing.

In the state of Minnesota, mortgage loan originators are required to:

    1. Complete a Criminal Background Check (CBC).
    2. Authorize a credit report through the NMLS.
    3. Fulfill all state and federal education requirements as designated by your state agency.
    4. Take and pass both a National Component and Minnesota State Component Test. 

Note: Effective August 1, 2018, Minnesota will adopt the UST and no longer require a state-specific exam.

Minnesota NMLS Pre-Licensing Education Requirements:

New state-licensed MLOs are required to complete 20 hours of NMLS-approved education. This includes:

  • 3 hours of federal law
  • 3 hours of ethics
  • 2 hours of non-traditional mortgage lending
  • 12 hours of electives

Minnesota Continuing Education Requirements:

State-licensed MLOs are required to complete 8 hours of NMLS-approved mortgage education annually beginning the year they are licensed (unless PE was completed in the same year). This includes:

  • 3 hours of federal law
  • 2 hours of ethics
  • 2 hours of non-traditional mortgage lending
  • 1 hour of electives

Note: Effective August 1, 2018, Minnesota requires 1 hour of state-specific continuing education. The required hours remain at 8 total hours.

MLOs are advised that to comply with the SAFE Act’s “successive years” rule, they may not take the same CE course two years in a row.

Minnesota Mortgage Licensing:

NMLS Resources: