Nevada License Requirements

Get an understanding of mortgage lending and insurance state licensing and continuing education requirements

Course Search

Nevada Mortgage License Requirements

Learn about the Nevada mortgage education requirements for mortgage licensing.

In the state of Nevada, mortgage loan originators are required to:

    1. Complete a Criminal Background Check (CBC).
    2. Authorize a credit report through the NMLS.
    3. Fulfill all state and federal education requirements as designated by your state agency.
    4. Take and pass a National Test.
    5. A review of the applicant’s compliance with any court ordered child support payments. Pursuant to NRS 645B.420, a person may not hold a license if he or she is not in compliance;
    6. Payment of the $185 Nevada application fee and the $25 Attorney General assessment;
    7. Applicant must be sponsored by a licensed mortgage broker, mortgage banker or exempt entity;
    8. Applicant may only be associated with one mortgage broker or mortgage banker;
    9. Applicant must be included on the Surety Bond held by the sponsoring company; and
    10. Applicant must be 18 years of age.

Nevada NMLS Pre-Licensing Education Requirements:

New state-licensed MLOs are required to complete 30 hours of NMLS-approved education. This includes:

  • 3 hours of federal law
  • 3 hours of ethics
  • 2 hours of non-traditional mortgage lending
  • 18 hours of electives
  • 4 hours of Nevada state-specific education

Nevada Continuing Education Requirements:

State-licensed MLOs are required to complete 8 hours of NMLS-approved mortgage education annually beginning the year they are licensed (unless PE was completed in the same year). This includes:

  • 3 hours of federal law
  • 2 hours of ethics
  • 2 hours of non-traditional mortgage lending
  • 1 hour of electives

MLOs are advised that to comply with the SAFE Act’s “successive years” rule, they may not take the same CE course two years in a row.

Nevada Mortgage Licensing:

NMLS Resources:

Nevada Insurance License Requirements

Learn about the Nevada insurance education requirements for insurance licensing.

To obtain an insurance license in Nevada, you must satisfy these requirements:

  • Complete the education requirements. You must complete your education hours through a state-approved school. Depending on the line of authority you are applying for, the required hours of education for each line are:
    • 20 hours of Life Insurance
    • 20 hours of Health Insurance
    • 40 hours of Life & Health Insurance
    • 20 hours of Property Insurance
    • 20 hours of Casualty Insurance
    • 40 hours of Property & Casualty Insurance
    • 80 hours for all lines of Insurance

Most commonly, students enroll in 40 hours of education for a Life & Health (L&H) license or 40 hours for a Property & Casualty (P&C) license:

  • Pass the Nevada insurance license exam.
  • Submit an Individual Licensing application to the Nevada Division of Insurance and pay the license fee plus an agency affiliation fee.
  • Submit to a criminal history check. The state of Nevada requires a criminal history report for applicants that are residents of Nevada. Complete 2 fingerprint cards with the detailed information required in Document 324. You must attach the cards to your licensing application with a separate cashier’s check or money order.
  • A producer wishing to sell for an agency must be “affiliated” with that agency to transact insurance unless the producer is directly appointed by the insurer. A producer can’t transact insurance until they are affiliated with the agency they are employed with. Direct producer appointments must be filed within 15 days after the agency contract is executed or an initial Nevada insurance license is issued. The effective date of the appointment will be listed on the NAIC Producer database.

If you were an insurance Producer licensed in another state within 90 days of applying for licensure, you need to:

  • Provide an original letter of clearance from the regulatory agency of the state in which you were actively licensed. An applicant for licensing in Nevada who was previously licensed for the same lines of authority in another state need not complete any prelicensing education or examinations if the application is received within 90 days after the cancellation of the license.
  • Submit an Individual Licensing application to the Nevada Division of Insurance and pay the license fee plus an agency affiliation fee.
  • Submit to a criminal history check. The state of Nevada requires a criminal history report for applicants that are residents of Nevada. Complete 2 fingerprint cards with the detailed information required in Document 324. You must attach the cards to your licensing application with a separate cashier’s check or money order.
  • A producer wishing to sell for an agency must be “affiliated” with that agency to transact insurance unless the producer is directly appointed by the insurer. A producer can’t transact insurance until they are affiliated with the agency they are employed with. Direct producer appointments must be filed within 15 days after the agency contract is executed or an initial Nevada insurance license is issued. The effective date of the appointment will be listed on the NAIC Producer database.

Nevada Insurance State Exam Information:

Nevada insurance license applicants must pass a computerized license examination administered by Pearson VUE, a national testing firm. To schedule an exam date and time, you can call them toll-free at (800) 274-2609 or visit www.pearsonVUE.com. You are encouraged to reserve your exam date at least three or four business days prior.

To schedule an exam, Pearson VUE will require the following:

  • Personal information – legal name, address, phone, SSN, date of birth
  • Exam specifics – exam type, preferred date and test center location
  • Failing score report (if retaking an exam)
  • Exam fees paid in full

For more information, view Pearson VUE’s complete State of Nevada Insurance Candidate Handbook, which includes details of all licensing requirements, exam reservation guidelines, and a list of all Pearson VUE test center locations and hours of operation.

Upon arriving at the test center, you’ll need to show two pieces of ID (one photo-bearing) and confirmation number to the test administrator. Then a brief online tutorial will familiarize you with the computerized testing system before you answer a series of multiple-choice questions.

You will have plenty of time to complete the exam. The amount of time depends on how many exams you’re taking at a single sitting. Be sure to attempt to answer every question. Your score report marked "pass" or "fail" will be available immediately. Candidates who receive a passing score will receive information on how to apply for a license. Candidates who fail the examination will receive a score report with a numeric score and diagnostic information relating to the general portion of the exam, as well as information about reexamination.

Nevada Insurance Licensing FAQs:

  • Is OnCourse Learning’s program approved to satisfy the education requirements needed to become licensed as a Nevada Insurance Agent? OnCourse Learning’s Nevada Insurance programs are approved by the Nevada Division of Insurance to satisfy the education requirements to be licensed as a Nevada Insurance Agent.
  • What do OnCourse Learning’s Nevada Insurance online training programs include? OnCourse Learning’s online Nevada Insurance programs include printable lessons, multi-media reviews, interactive exercises, quizzes and comprehensive exams. All the tools you need to prepare for the state exam are included!
  • Do I need to enroll in an exam prep course to prepare for my Nevada Insurance Agent licensing exam? OnCourse Learning’s Nevada Insurance programs include everything you need to pass your state licensing exam. 
  • Once I enroll, when can I start studying for my Nevada Insurance Agent license? Upon enrolling, you will have immediate access to your coursework. Simply log-in using your e-mail address and password and you can get started immediately. Best of all, you will have access to your course 24/7 and from any computer with an internet connection. You can work at home, at the office, wherever is the most convenient for you!
  • What if I have questions once I enroll in the Nevada Insurance Agent program? OnCourse Learning’s attentive customer service staff and knowledgeable instructors are available to answer any questions you may have. We are available Monday-Friday, 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. PST at 1-800-299-2207.

Nevada Insurance Continuing Education FAQs:

  • Are OnCourse Learning’s continuing education courses approved to satisfy my Nevada Insurance Producer continuing education requirements? Yes. OnCourse Learning’s Nevada Insurance continuing education courses are approved by the Nevada Division of Insurance to satisfy the education requirements to renew your Nevada Insurance Producer license.
  • Are there required courses if I want to sell or do sell annuities, long term care or flood insurance? Yes. There are additional courses required if you sell or wish to sell annuities, flood insurance or long-term care products. All states require licensees who sell flood insurance to complete a one-time course that is at least three hours in length.  Several states require courses to represent annuity products and long-term care products.
  • How do OnCourse Learning’s Nevada Insurance continuing education courses work? OnCourse Learning’s approved Nevada Insurance continuing education courses are offered online for your convenience. Once enrolled, your Table of Contents will serve as your roadmap for completing the course. You will be given access to lesson material, multimedia reviews, quizzes and a final exam. To demonstrate course completion, you will need to read the lesson material, pass all quizzes and pass the final exam. 
  • Will I receive a certificate of completion immediately after completing the coursework? Yes. Upon completion of all course elements, you will immediately receive your certificate of completion. You may access your certificate of completion at any time by logging into your account. 
  • Once I enroll, when can I access my Nevada Insurance continuing education courses? Upon enrolling, you will have immediate access to your coursework. Simply log-in using your e-mail address and password and you can get started immediately. Best of all, you will have access to your course 24/7 and from any computer with an internet connection. You can work at home, at the office, wherever is the most convenient for you!
  • What if I have questions once I enroll in the continuing education courses? OnCourse Learning’s attentive customer service staff and knowledgeable instructors are available to answer any questions you may have. We are available Monday-Friday, 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. PST at 1-800-299-2207.

Nevada Insurance Licensing: More Information

For more information, please contact the Nevada Division of Insurance at:

  • Nevada Division of Insurance 1818 E. College Pkwy, Suite 103 Carson City, NV 89706 
  • Phone: 1-888-872-3234 
  • Websitedoi.nv.gov