North Carolina NMLS-Approved Mortgage Continuing Education

Get started with your North Carolina mortgage loan officer CE online course today

Course Search
Choose the North Carolina NMLS-approved mortgage continuing education course that is right for you

Our NMLS-approved North Carolina mortgage loan originator (MLO) CE courses help you stay licensed and compliant. Our North Carolina 8-hour mortgage SAFE comprehensive course is designed specifically for North Carolina mortgage loan officers and is offered as an online, self-paced or audio course. 

8 Hour NC SAFE Comprehensive: Maintaining Mortgage Industry Awareness

SKU : 4303NC19000A00

Credit Hours | 8

Category | Comprehensive

$129.00

More Info

Maintaining Mortgage Industry Awareness provides a review of relevant issues facing mortgage loan originators today, specifically those outlined by NMLS as required topics for continuing education. Students will examine provisions of the Truth-in-Lending Act, the TILA-RESPA Integrated Disclosure Rule, and the Qualified Mortgage Rule, including issues related to considering the triggers, tolerances, and thresholds that enable loan originators to determine when disclosures are due and what information is required. In addition, students will take a look at the Real Estate Settlement Procedures Act, specifically rules related to lead agreements, marketing services agreements, co-marketing, desk licensing agreements, and affiliated business arrangements. Students will also review several nontraditional mortgage products, such as adjustable-rate mortgages and fixed-rate mortgages with terms of 15 and 40 years. Finally, students will review mortgage laws and regulations specific to the state of North Carolina. This course is NMLS-approved for eight hours of continuing education required for North Carolina mortgage loan originators, as specified by the S.A.F.E. Mortgage Licensing Act and North Carolina law. Annual S.A.F.E. Act continuing education requirements for North Carolina loan originators include three hours of federal law, two hours of ethics, two hours of nontraditional mortgage lending, and one hour of North Carolina-specific laws and regulations, for a total of eight hours.

1 Hour NC SAFE: North Carolina Mortgage Law Updates

SKU : 4303NC19500A00

Credit Hours | 1

Category | Elective

$39.00

More Info

This course will focus on the laws and rules that regulate mortgage loan originators, lenders, and brokers doing business in North Carolina. Throughout this course, students will review fictionalized scenarios based on real regulatory decisions made by the Office of the Commissioner of Banks in recent months, paired with a discussion of the relevant sections of North Carolina laws and regulations. In Module 1, students will review standards for obtaining and maintaining a license, recordkeeping and reporting requirements, limitations on fees and charges, and mortgage broker duties. In Module 2, students will look at prohibited conduct for licensees, including a look at the Residential Mortgage Fraud Act, as well as disciplinary action that may be taken when violations of the law occur.

 

 

Your Success is Our #1 Priority

OnCourse Learning empowers aspiring mortgage loan originators (MLOs) and seasoned mortgage loan officers to take their learning experience to the next level. Get and maintain your NMLS license with:

  • NMLS approved mortgage pre-licensing, continuing education and late CE courses
  • NMLS test prep tools to help you pass your NMLS license exam
  • Over 20 years of mortgage education experience

We’ve helped over 300,000 mortgage brokers begin and advance their careers. Get started today!

Learn about the North Carolina mortgage education requirements for mortgage licensing.

In the state of North Carolina, mortgage loan originators are required to:

  1. Complete a Criminal Background Check (CBC).
  2. Authorize a credit report through the NMLS.
  3. Fulfill all state and federal education requirements as designated by North Carolina.
  4. Take and pass a National Test.
  5. Applicants must be at least 18 years of age.

North Carolina NLMS Pre-Licensing Education Requirements:

New state-licensed MLOs are required to complete 24 hours of NMLS-approved education. This includes:

  • 3 hours of federal law
  • 3 hours of ethics
  • 2 hours of non-traditional mortgage lending
  • 12 hours of electives
  • 4 hours of North Carolina state-specific education

North Carolina Continuing Education Requirements:

State-licensed MLOs are required to complete 8 hours of NMLS-approved mortgage education annually beginning the year they are licensed (unless PE was completed in the same year). This includes:

  • 3 hours of federal law
  • 2 hours of ethics
  • 2 hours of non-traditional mortgage lending
  • 1 hour of electives

MLOs are advised that to comply with the SAFE Act’s “successive years” rule, they may not take the same CE course two years in a row.

North Carolina Mortgage Licensing: More Information

NMLS Resources: