Rhode Island NMLS-Approved Mortgage Continuing Education

Get started with your Rhode Island mortgage loan officer CE online course today

Course Search
Choose the Rhode Island NMLS-approved mortgage continuing education course that is right for you

Our NMLS-approved Rhode Island mortgage loan originator (MLO) CE courses help you stay licensed and compliant and are specifically designed for Rhode Island mortgage loan officers.  We offer comprehensive and core courses as video or online self-paced.

7 Hour SAFE Core: Understanding Origination Regulations Video CE

Format | Online Self-Paced

Credit Hours | 7

Category | Continuing Education

SKU | 4303US19150A00

$139.00

More Info

Understanding Origination Regulations provides a review of relevant issues facing mortgage loan originators today, specifically those outlined by NMLS as required topics for continuing education. Students will examine provisions of the TILA-RESPA Integrated Disclosure Rule, including a look at the Loan Estimate and Closing Disclosure, as well as several laws that reinforce ethical obligations of mortgage licensees like Regulation N and the Bank Secrecy Act. Students will also review rules for the origination of FHA and VA loans.

8 Hour RI SAFE Comprehensive: Maintaining Mortgage Industry Awareness (Online)

Format | Online Self-Paced

Credit Hours | 8

Category | Comprehensive

SKU | 4303RI19000A00

$129.00

More Info

Maintaining Mortgage Industry Awareness provides a review of relevant issues facing mortgage loan originators today, specifically those outlined by NMLS as required topics for continuing education. Students will examine provisions of the Truth-in-Lending Act, the TILA-RESPA Integrated Disclosure Rule, and the Qualified Mortgage Rule, including issues related to considering the triggers, tolerances, and thresholds that enable loan originators to determine when disclosures are due and what information is required. In addition, students will take a look at the Real Estate Settlement Procedures Act, specifically rules related to lead agreements, marketing services agreements, co-marketing, desk licensing agreements, and affiliated business arrangements. Students will also review several nontraditional mortgage products, such as adjustable-rate mortgages and fixed-rate mortgages with terms of 15 and 40 years. Finally, students will review mortgage laws and regulations specific to the state of Rhode Island. This course is NMLS-approved for eight hours of continuing education required for Rhode Island mortgage loan originators, as specified by the S.A.F.E. Mortgage Licensing Act and Rhode Island law. Annual S.A.F.E. Act continuing education requirements for Rhode Island loan originators include three hours of federal law, two hours of ethics, two hours of nontraditional mortgage lending, and one hour of Rhode Island-specific laws and regulations, for a total of eight hours.

1 Hour RI SAFE: Rhode Island Mortgage Law Updates (Webinar)

Format | Webinar

Credit Hours | 1

Category | Elective

SKU | 4303RI19500G00

$69.00

More Info

This course will focus on the laws and rules that regulate mortgage loan originators, loan brokers, and lenders doing business in Rhode Island. The topics included in the course are presented according to those outlined by the state as subjects that must be included in order to satisfy the continuing education requirements for mortgage loan originators. Students will spend 30 minutes of the course reviewing the Rhode Island Home Loan Protection Act, specifically required and prohibited practices for transactions involving high-cost home loans. Students will spend the remaining 30 minutes reviewing the Rhode Island Fair Housing Practices Act, and provisions of the law related to title attorneys and title insurance, as well as mortgages of real property.

1 Hour RI SAFE: Rhode Island Mortgage Law Updates (Online)

Format | Online Self-Paced

Credit Hours | 1

Category | Elective

SKU | 4303RI19500A00

$39.00

More Info

This course will focus on the laws and rules that regulate mortgage loan originators, loan brokers, and lenders doing business in Rhode Island. The topics included in the course are presented according to those outlined by the state as subjects that must be included in order to satisfy the continuing education requirements for mortgage loan originators. Students will spend 30 minutes of the course reviewing the Rhode Island Home Loan Protection Act, specifically required and prohibited practices for transactions involving high-cost home loans. Students will spend the remaining 30 minutes reviewing the Rhode Island Fair Housing Practices Act, and provisions of the law related to title attorneys and title insurance, as well as mortgages of real property.

 Your Success is Our #1 Priority

OnCourse Learning empowers aspiring mortgage loan originators and seasoned mortgage loan officers to take their learning experience to the next level. Get and maintain your NMLS license with NMLS-approved mortgage pre-licensing, continuing education, and late CE courses, plus exam prep tools to help you pass your NMLS license exam. With over 50 years of experience, we are proud to offer the ultimate learning experience no matter where you are at in your mortgage education journey.

We’ve helped over 300,000 mortgage brokers begin and advance their careers. Get started today!

Rhode Island Mortgage License Requirements

Learn about the Rhode Island mortgage education requirements for mortgage licensing.

In the state of Rhode Island, mortgage loan originators are required to:

    1. Complete a Criminal Background Check (CBC).
    2. Authorize a credit report through the NMLS.
    3. Fulfill all state and federal education requirements as designated by your state agency.
    4. Take and pass a National Test.
    5. Positive net worth.

Rhode Island NMLS Pre-Licensing Education Requirements:

New state-licensed MLOs are required to complete 20 hours of NMLS-approved education. This includes:

  • 3 hours of federal law
  • 3 hours of ethics
  • 2 hours of non-traditional mortgage lending training
  • 9 hours of electives
  • 3 hours of Rhode Island state-specific education

Rhode Island Continuing Education Requirements:

State-licensed MLOs are required to complete 8 hours of NMLS-approved mortgage education annually beginning the year they are licensed (unless PE was completed in the same year). This includes:

  • 3 hours of federal law
  • 2 hours of ethics
  • 2 hours of non-traditional mortgage lending
  • 1 hour of Rhode Island state-specific education

MLOs are advised that to comply with the SAFE Act’s “successive years” rule, they may not take the same CE course two years in a row.

Rhode Island Mortgage Licensing: 

NMLS Resources:


Join our mailing list and get access to the latest courses, discounts and insights!  You may unsubscribe at any time

20225 Water Tower Blvd. Brookfield, WI 53045
© 2019 OCL Financial Services, LLC. All rights reserved.
NMLS Provider #1400013