Tennessee License Requirements

Get an understanding of mortgage lending and insurance state licensing and continuing education requirements

Course Search

Tennessee Mortgage License Requirements

Learn about the Tennessee mortgage education requirements for mortgage licensing.

In the state of Tennessee, mortgage loan originators are required to: 

  1. Complete a Criminal Background Check (CBC).
  2. Authorize a credit report through the NMLS.
  3. Fulfill all state and federal education requirements as designated by your state agency.
  4. Take and pass a National Test.
  5. No prior revocation of license by any state regulator.
  6. No felony conviction during 7 (seven) year period prior to application.
  7. No felony conviction at any time, if felony involved fraud, dishonesty, breach of trust, or money laundering.
  8. Sufficient financial responsibility, character, and general fitness.
  9. Sponsorship by current employer.

Tennessee NMLS Pre-Licensing Education Requirements:

New state-licensed MLOs are required to complete 20 hours of NMLS-approved education. This includes:

  • 3 hours of federal law
  • 3 hours of ethics
  • 2 hours of non-traditional mortgage lending training
  • 10 hours of electives
  • 2 hours of Tennessee state-specific education 

Tennessee Continuing Education Requirements:

State-licensed MLOs are required to complete 8 hours of NMLS-approved mortgage education annually beginning the year they are licensed (unless PE was completed in the same year). This includes:

  • 3 hours of federal law
  • 2 hours of ethics
  • 2 hours of non-traditional mortgage lending
  • 1 hour of electives

MLOs are advised that to comply with the SAFE Act’s “successive years” rule, they may not take the same CE course two years in a row.

Tennessee Mortgage Licensing: 

NMLS Resources: