Texas License Requirements

Get an understanding of mortgage lending and insurance state licensing and continuing education requirements

Course Search

Texas OCCC Mortgage License Requirements

Learn about the Texas (OCCC) mortgage education requirements for mortgage licensing.

In the state of Texas (OCCC), mortgage loan originators are required to:

    1. Complete a Criminal Background Check (CBC).
    2. Authorize a credit report through the NMLS.
    3. Fulfill all state and federal education requirements as designated by your state agency.
    4. Take and pass a National Test.
    5. Recovery Fund: Applicants and licensed mortgage loan originators must pay a non-refundable recovery fund fee to the Office of Consumer Credit Commissioner at the time of application and at the time of renewal.

Texas (OCCC) NMLS Pre-Licensing Education Requirements:

New state-licensed MLOs are required to complete 20 hours of NMLS-approved education. This includes:

  • 3 hours of federal law
  • 3 hours of ethics
  • 2 hours of non-traditional mortgage lending training
  • 12 hours of electives 

Texas (OCCC) Continuing Education Requirements:

State-licensed MLOs are required to complete 8 hours of NMLS-approved mortgage education annually beginning the year they are licensed (unless PE was completed in the same year). This includes:

  • 3 hours of federal law
  • 2 hours of ethics
  • 2 hours of non-traditional mortgage lending
  • 1 hour of electives

MLOs are advised that to comply with the SAFE Act’s “successive years” rule, they may not take the same CE course two years in a row.

Texas (OCCC) Mortgage Licensing:

NMLS Resources:

Texas SML Mortgage License Requirements

Learn about the Texas (SML) mortgage education requirements for mortgage licensing.

In the state of Texas, under the Texas Department of Savings and Mortgage Lending (SML), mortgage loan originators are required to:

  1. Complete a Criminal Background Check (CBC).
  2. Authorize a credit report through the NMLS.
  3. Fulfill all state and federal education requirements as designated by your state agency.
  4. Take and pass a National Test.

Texas (SML) NMLS Pre-Licensing Education Requirements:

New state-licensed MLOs are required to complete 23 hours of NMLS-approved education. This includes:

  • 3 hours of federal law
  • 3 hours of ethics
  • 2 hours of non-traditional mortgage lending training
  • 12 hours of electives
  • 3 hours Texas (SML) state-specific education

Texas (SML) Continuing Education Requirements:

State-licensed MLOs are required to complete 8 hours of NMLS-approved mortgage education annually beginning the year they are licensed (unless PE was completed in the same year). This includes:

  • 3 hours of federal law
  • 2 hours of ethics
  • 2 hours of non-traditional mortgage lending
  • 1 hour of electives

MLOs are advised that to comply with the SAFE Act’s “successive years” rule, they may not take the same CE course two years in a row.

Texas (SML) Mortgage Licensing: