Utah License Requirements

Get an understanding of mortgage lending and insurance state licensing and continuing education requirements

Course Search

Utah - DFI Mortgage License Requirements

Learn about the Utah (DFI) mortgage education requirements for mortgage licensing.

In the state of Utah (DFI), mortgage loan originators are required to:

    1. Complete a Criminal Background Check (CBC).
    2. Authorize a credit report through the NMLS.
    3. Fulfill all state and federal education requirements as designated by your state agency.
    4. Take and pass a National Test.
    5. A Surety Bond in a minimum amount of $12,500 or more depending on origination volume.

Utah (DFI) NMLS Pre-Licensing Education Requirements:

New state-licensed MLOs are required to complete 20 hours of NMLS-approved education. This includes:

  • 3 hours of federal law
  • 3 hours of ethics
  • 2 hours of non-traditional mortgage lending training
  • 12 hours of electives

Utah (DFI) Continuing Education Requirements:

State-licensed MLOs are required to complete 8 hours of NMLS-approved mortgage education annually beginning the year they are licensed (unless PE was completed in the same year). This includes:

  • 3 hours of federal law
  • 2 hours of ethics
  • 2 hours of non-traditional mortgage lending
  • 1 hour of electives

MLOs are advised that to comply with the SAFE Act’s “successive years” rule, they may not take the same CE course two years in a row.

Utah (DFI) Mortgage Licensing:

NMLS Resources:

Utah - DRE Mortgage License Requirements

Learn about the Utah (DRE) mortgage education requirements for mortgage licensing.

In the state of Utah (DRE), mortgage loan originators are required to:

    1. Complete a Criminal Background Check (CBC).
    2. Authorize a credit report through the NMLS.
    3. Fulfill all state and federal education requirements as designated by your state agency.
    4. Take and pass the National Components.

Utah (DRE) NMLS Pre-Licensing Education Requirements:

New state-licensed MLOs are required to complete 20 hours of NMLS-approved education, plus 15-hour Utah-approved training. This includes:

  • 3 hours of federal law
  • 3 hours of ethics
  • 2 hours of non-traditional mortgage lending training
  • 12 hours of electives

Utah (DRE) Continuing Education Requirements:

State-licensed MLOs are required to complete 10 hours of NMLS-approved mortgage education annually beginning the year they are licensed (unless PE was completed in the same year). This includes:

  • 3 hours of federal law
  • 2 hours of ethics
  • 2 hours of non-traditional mortgage lending
  • 1 hour of electives
  • 2 hours Utah-specific law

NOTE: Effective 2018, MLOs licensed by UT-DRE after May 8, 2017, are required to complete a 5hr post-licensure course. This is in addition to the 10 hours of annual CE already required for MLOs (8hrs + 2hrs of UT-specific).

MLOs are advised that to comply with the SAFE Act’s “successive years” rule, they may not take the same CE course two years in a row.

Utah (DRE) Mortgage Licensing: 

NMLS Resources:

Utah Insurance License Requirements

Learn about the Utah insurance education needs and additional requirements for insurance licensing.

The general license requirements to obtain an insurance license in Utah are:

Fingerprinting - Exam & Licensing Procedures

The Utah Insurance Department requires all individuals applying for a resident insurance license to be fingerprinted. Fingerprinting must be done at a PSI test center, using "live scan" technology, which digitally captures and transmits the fingerprints to the Utah Department of Public Safety, Bureau of Criminal Identification (BCI) and Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI), for a criminal history background check. Fingerprinting is not required for resident licensees adding a line of authority to an existing license.

For license types that require passing an examination (IE: Resident Consultant, Resident Producer, Resident Independent Adjuster, Resident Public Adjuster), the process is as follows:

  1. The applicant will register by going online at PSI Exams  or by calling 1-800-733-9267 to schedule an appointment for the license examination and fingerprinting to be done at a PSI test center. In addition to the PSI examination fees, there is a $20 PSI fingerprint processing fee. The applicant must schedule the appointment and pay the PSI examination and processing fees before arriving at the test center.
  2. After passing the examination, the candidate will apply on-line using a kiosk located at the PSI test center. Upon completing the on-line application, the applicant must print the SIRCON or NIPR confirmation page and show it to the test center supervisor as proof they have paid the FBI/BCI fingerprint fees.
  3. After applying for a license on-line, the applicant will have their fingerprints taken at the Prometric test center.
  4. Fingerprint results will be returned to the Utah Insurance Department. The department will evaluate the results and the license application prior to issuing any license.

Resident Licensing

Candidates may no longer submit a license application for pre-screening purposes prior to taking the examination. All license applications are to be submitted after successfully passing any required examinations.

Note: Passing an exam and submitting an application does not guarantee that you will be issued a license. Issuance of a license depends on review and approval of all license application materials, including application questions regarding any prior civil or criminal proceedings. Failure to disclose civil proceedings and all criminal convictions, whether a misdemeanor or felony, and any pending charges, may result in denial of your application or revocation of your license after issuance. If your license application is denied, you will be notified in writing of the reason for such denial.

After passing the exam, complete and submit your license application electronically, and pay all required nonrefundable fees with a credit card. You can apply electronically from your home or office at Sircon or NIPR. Your application and fees will be electronically forwarded to the Department. After review and approval, you will be able to print your license from Sircon. You will need the license number and last 4 digits of your social security number.

The Department no longer accepts paper applications. Paper applications submitted to the Department may be returned to the applicant, without being processed.

Company appointments do not need to accompany the individual license application and license fee, but the applicant cannot act as a producer until the appointment process is complete.

For complete details please visit the Utah Insurance Department website at: https://insurance.utah.gov/agent/producers/exam/index.php

Utah Insurance State Exam Information

Examinations are administered by PSI Exams . When an individual completes an exam registration form, either online or over the phone and pays the exam fee to PSI, PSI will send written notice to the candidate of where the exam may be taken and how to schedule the exam appointment. The easiest way to register for the exam is online at PSI Exams. You may also call PSI at 1-800-733-9267. If a candidate fails an exam, they must re-register and pay the fee to PSI again.

Candidates may no longer submit a license application for pre-screening purposes prior to taking the examination. We do not review criminal history prior to application. All license applications are to be submitted after successfully passing any required examinations.

Utah Insurance Licensing FAQs

  • What do OnCourse Learning’s Utah Insurance programs include? OnCourse Learning’s Utah Insurance programs include printable lessons, multi-media reviews, interactive exercises, quizzes and comprehensive exams. All the tools you need to prepare for the state exam are included! 
  • Do I need to enroll in an exam prep course to prepare for my Utah Insurance Agent licensing exam? OnCourse Learning’s Utah Insurance programs include everything you need to pass your state licensing exam. 
  • Once I enroll, when can I start studying for my Utah Insurance Agent license? Upon enrolling, you will have immediate access to your coursework. Simply log-in using your e-mail address and password and you can get started immediately. Best of all, you will have access to your course 24/7 and from any computer with an internet connection. You can work at home, at the office, wherever is the most convenient for you! 
  • What if I have questions once I enroll in the Utah Insurance program? OnCourse Learning’s attentive customer service staff and knowledgeable instructors are available to answer any questions you may have. We are available Monday-Friday, 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. PST at 1-800-299-2207.

Utah Insurance Licensing

For more information, please contact the Utah Insurance Department at:

  • Utah Insurance Department
  • State Office Building Ste 3110 Capitol Hill Complex 450 N State St Salt Lake City UT 84114-6901
  • Phone: 1-800-439-3805 
  • Websiteinsurance.utah.gov