Washington License Requirements

Get an understanding of mortgage lending and insurance state licensing and continuing education requirements

Course Search

Washington Mortgage License Requirements

Learn about the Washington mortgage education requirements for mortgage licensing. 

In the state of Washington, mortgage loan originators are required to: 

    1. Complete a Criminal Background Check (CBC).
    2. Authorize a credit report through the NMLS.
    3. Fulfill all state and federal education requirements as designated by your state agency.
    4. Take and pass a National Test.
    5. Apply for the MLO License: Complete and submit your MU4 through the NMLS, including paying the license fee.
    6. Sponsorship: Contact your employer to submit a sponsorship request in NMLS for your license application.
    7. Fingerprinting: After applying for the MLO license, schedule an appointment to have your fingerprints taken by a NMLS-authorized fingerprint vendor. DFI cannot begin processing your MLO application until criminal background check results have been reported in the NMLS.
    8. After applying for the MLO license, fax or email the MLO New Application checklist to DFI at (360) 664-2258 or DCS@dfi.wa.gov.

Washington NMLS Pre-Licensing Education Requirements:

New state-licensed MLOs are required to complete 22 hours of NMLS-approved education. This includes:

  • 3 hours of federal law
  • 3 hours of ethics
  • 2 hours of non-traditional mortgage lending training
  • 10 hours of electives
  • 4 hours of Washington state-specific education 

Washington Continuing Education Requirements:

The continuing education deadline in Washington is December 15, 2019.
Learn More

State-licensed MLOs are required to complete 9 hours of NMLS-approved mortgage education annually beginning the year they are licensed (unless PE was completed in the same year). This includes:

  • 3 hours of federal law
  • 2 hours of ethics
  • 2 hours of non-traditional mortgage lending
  • 1 hour of electives
  • 1 hour of Washington state-specific education

MLOs are advised that to comply with the SAFE Act’s “successive years” rule, they may not take the same CE course two years in a row.

Washington Mortgage Licensing: 

NMLS Resources:

Washington Insurance License Requirements

Learn about the Washington insurance education requirements for insurance licensing.

To obtain a resident insurance producer license in Washington, you must satisfy these requirements:

  • Complete the education requirements. You must complete your education at a state-approved school, like OnCourse Learning. Most commonly, students enroll in 40-hours of coursework for a Life & Disability (L&D) license or 40-hours of coursework for a Property & Casualty (P&C) license. Each line of authority requires the following minimum hours of study: 
      • 20 hours Washington Life insurance 
      • 20 hours Washington Disability (Health) insurance 
      • 20 hours Washington Property insurance 
      • 20 hours Washington Casualty insurance 
      • 20 hours Washington Personal Lines insurance
  • Pass the Washington insurance license exam with a score of 75% or better (your passing score report is valid for 180 days)
  • Submit fingerprints (www.insurance.wa.gov/fingerprint-requirements)
  • Apply for your license online
  • Reside in the state of Washington
  • Be at least 18 years of age

Already licensed in another state?

If you are relocating to Washington and are currently licensed in another state for the same lines of authority you are not required to complete any prelicensing education or take the state examination. This exemption is only available if you are currently licensed or if your application to Washington is received within 90 days of the cancellation of the previous license.

Washington Insurance State Exam Information

Washington state insurance license applicants must pass a computerized license exam administered by PSI, a national testing firm. To schedule an exam date and time, you can call them toll-free at (800) 733-9267 or visit www.psiexams.com. You are encouraged to reserve your exam date at least three or four business days prior.

To schedule an exam, PSI will require the following:

  • Personal information – legal name, address, phone, SSN, date of birth
  • Exam specifics – exam type, preferred date and test center location
  • School and instructor codes – a school code on your certificate of completion
  • Failing score report (if retaking an exam)
  • Exam fees paid in full

For more information, read PSI's complete Candidate Information Bulletin, which includes details of all licensing requirements, exam reservation guidelines, and a list of all PSI test center locations and hours of operations. Scheduled test dates vary widely by location.

Upon arriving at the test center, you’ll need to show two pieces of ID (one photo-bearing) and the course completion certificates to the test administrator. Then a brief online tutorial will familiarize you with the computerized testing system before you answer a series of multiple-choice questions.

Be sure to attempt answering every question. A minimum score of 75% is required to pass. Your score will be available immediately. A passing score is valid for 180 days.

Washington Insurance Licensing FAQs

  • Is OnCourse Learning’s program approved to satisfy the education requirements needed to become licensed as a Washington Insurance Agent? OnCourse Learning’s Washington Insurance programs are approved by the Washington Office of the Insurance Commissioner (https://www.insurance.wa.gov/) (OIC) to satisfy the education requirements to be licensed as a Washington Insurance Agent.
  • What do OnCourse Learning’s Washington Insurance programs include? OnCourse Learning’s Washington Insurance programs include printable lessons, multi-media reviews, interactive exercises, quizzes and comprehensive exams. All the tools you need to prepare for the state exam are included!
  • Do I need to enroll in an exam prep course to prepare for my Washington Insurance Agent licensing exam? OnCourse Learning’s Washington Insurance programs include everything you need to pass your state licensing exam.
  • Once I enroll, when can I start studying for my Washington Insurance Agent license? Upon enrolling, you will have immediate access to your coursework. Simply log-in using your e-mail address and password and you can get started immediately. Best of all, you will have access to your course 24/7 and from any computer with an internet connection. You can work at home, at the office, wherever is the most convenient for you!
  • What if I have questions once I enroll in the Washington Insurance program? OnCourse Learning’s attentive customer service staff and knowledgeable instructors are available to answer any questions you may have. We are available Monday-Friday, 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. PST at 1-800-299-2207.
  • Washington Insurance Continuing Education FAQs
  • Are OnCourse Learning’s continuing education courses approved to satisfy my Washington Insurance Agent continuing education requirements? Yes. OnCourse Learning’s Washington Insurance continuing education courses are approved by the Washington State Office of the Insurance Commissioner to satisfy the education requirements to renew your Washington Insurance Producer license.
  • Are there required courses if I want to sell or do sell annuities, long term care or flood insurance? Yes. There are additional courses required if you sell or wish to sell annuities, flood insurance or long-term care products. All states require licensees who sell flood insurance to complete a one-time course that is at least three hours in length. Several states require courses to represent annuity products and long-term care products.
  • How do OnCourse Learning’s Washington Insurance continuing education courses work? OnCourse Learning’s approved Washington Insurance continuing education courses are offered online for your convenience. Once enrolled, your Table of Contents will serve as your roadmap for completing the course. You will be given access to lesson material, multimedia reviews, quizzes and a final exam. To demonstrate course completion, you will need to read the lesson material, pass all quizzes and pass the final exam.
  • Will I receive a certificate of completion immediately after completing the coursework? Yes. Upon completion of all course elements, you will immediately receive your certificate of completion. You may access your certificate of completion at any time by logging into your account.
  • Once I enroll, when can I access my Washington Insurance continuing education courses? Upon enrolling, you will have immediate access to your coursework. Simply log-in using your e-mail address and password and you can get started immediately. Best of all, you will have access to your course 24/7 and from any computer with an internet connection. You can work at home, at the office, wherever is the most convenient for you!
  • What if I have questions once I enroll in the Washington Insurance program? OnCourse Learning’s attentive customer service staff and knowledgeable instructors are available to answer any questions you may have. We are available Monday-Friday, 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. PST at 1-800-299-2207.

Washington Insurance Licensing 

For more information, please contact the Washington Office of the Insurance Commissioner at: 

  • Washington Office of the Insurance Commissioner
  • PO Box 40255 Olympia, WA 98504-0255 
  • Phone: 1-800-562-6900 
  • Websitewww.insurance.wa.gov