West Virginia License Requirements

Get an understanding of mortgage lending and insurance state licensing and continuing education requirements

Course Search

West Virginia Mortgage License Requirements

Learn about the West Virginia mortgage education requirements for mortgage licensing.

In the state of West Virginia, mortgage loan originators are required to:

    1. Complete a Criminal Background Check (CBC).
    2. Authorize a credit report through the NMLS.
    3. Fulfill all state and federal education requirements as designated by your state agency.
    4. Take and pass the National Test.
    5. Sufficient financial responsibility, character, and general fitness.
    6. Sponsorship by current employer.

West Virginia NMLS Pre-Licensing Education Requirements:

New state-licensed MLOs are required to complete 24 hours of NMLS-approved education. This includes:

  • 3 hours of federal law
  • 3 hours of ethics
  • 2 hours of non-traditional mortgage lending training
  • 12 hours of electives
  • 4 hours of West Virginia state-specific education

West Virginia Continuing Education Requirements:

The continuing education deadline in West Virginia is November 1, 2019.
Learn More

State-licensed MLOs are required to complete 9 hours of NMLS-approved mortgage education annually beginning the year they are licensed (unless PE was completed in the same year). This includes:

  • 3 hours of federal law
  • 2 hours of ethics
  • 2 hours of non-traditional mortgage lending
  • 2 hours of West Virginia state-specific education 

MLOs are advised that to comply with the SAFE Act’s “successive years” rule, they may not take the same CE course two years in a row.

West Virginia Mortgage Licensing: 

NMLS Resources:

West Virginia Insurance License Requirements

Learn about the West Virginia insurance education needs and additional requirements for insurance licensing. 

West Virginia Insurance Continuing Education FAQs

  • What are the requirements to renew a West Virginia insurance producer license? All licensed resident producers in West Virginia must complete 24 hours of continuing education every two years. Of those, at least 3 hours must be Ethics.
  • Are OnCourse Learning’s continuing education courses approved to satisfy my West Virginia Insurance Producer continuing education requirements? Yes. OnCourse Learning’s West Virginia Insurance continuing education courses are approved to satisfy the education requirements to renew your West Virginia Insurance license.
  • How do OnCourse Learning’s West Virginia Insurance continuing education courses work?
  • OnCourse Learning’s approved West Virginia Insurance continuing education courses are offered online for your convenience. Once enrolled, your Table of Contents will serve as your roadmap for completing the course. You will be given access to lesson material, multimedia reviews, quizzes and a final exam. To demonstrate course completion, you will need to read the lesson material, pass all quizzes and pass the final exam. 
  • Will I receive a certificate of completion immediately after completing the coursework? Yes. Upon completion of all course elements, you will immediately receive your certificate of completion. You may access your certificate of completion at any time by logging into your account. 
  • Once I enroll, when can I access my West Virginia Insurance continuing education courses? Upon enrolling, you will have immediate access to your coursework. Simply log-in using your e-mail address and password and you can get started immediately. Best of all, you will have access to your course 24/7 and from any computer with an internet connection. You can work at home, at the office, wherever is the most convenient for you!
  • What if I have questions once I enroll in the continuing education courses? OnCourse Learning’s attentive customer service staff and knowledgeable instructors are available to answer any questions you may have. We are available Monday-Friday, 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. PST at 1-800-299-2207.

West Virginia Insurance Licensing: More Information

For more information, please contact the West Virginia Office of the Insurance Commissioner at: 

  • West Virginia Offices of the Insurance Commissioner
  • PO Box 50540 Charleston, WV 25305-0540 
  • Phone: 1-888-879-9842 
  • Websitehttp://www.wvinsurance.gov