Get Your Alabama NMLS Mortgage License

Become an Alabama loan officer with the mortgage educator you can trust

Course Search

Alabama Mortgage License Requirements

Learn about the Alabama mortgage education requirements for mortgage licensing.

In the state of Alabama, mortgage loan originators are required to:

    1. Complete a Criminal Background Check (CBC).
    2. Authorize a credit report through the NMLS.
    3. Fulfill all state and federal education requirements as designated by your state agency.
    4. Take and pass a National Test with a grade of 75% or higher.
    5. Must be covered by a surety bond in favor of the State of Alabama through the company that you are working for or individually obtain a surety bond.
    6. Cannot have been convicted of any felony in the last 7 years.
    7. Can never have been convicted of a felony that involved an act of fraud, dishonesty, breach of trust or money laundering.

Alabama NMLS Pre-Licensing Education Requirements:

New state-licensed MLOs are required to complete 20 hours of NMLS-approved education. This includes:

  • 3 hours of federal law
  • 3 hours of ethics
  • 2 hours of non-traditional mortgage lending training
  • 12 hours of electives

Alabama Continuing Education Requirements:

State-licensed MLOs are required to complete 8 hours of NMLS-approved mortgage education annually beginning the year they are licensed (unless PE was completed in the same year). This includes:

  • 3 hours of federal law
  • 2 hours of ethics
  • 2 hours of non-traditional mortgage lending
  • 1 hour of electives

MLOs are advised that to comply with the SAFE Act’s “successive years” rule, they may not take the same CE course two years in a row.

Alabama Mortgage Licensing: 

NMLS Resources:

Join our mailing list and get access to the latest courses, discounts, insights and much more!  You may unsubscribe at any time

© 2019 OCL Real Estate LLC | All rights reserved.