Arizona License Requirements

Your resource for understanding all real estate, appraisal and home inspection state license requirements

Course Search

Arizona Real Estate License Requirements

Learn about the Arizona education requirements for real estate licensing and renewal.

Licensing Board/Commission: Arizona Department of Real Estate (ADRE)

Arizona Real Estate Education Requirements:

  • Arizona real estate salesperson license: 90 hours of in-classroom real estate salesperson pre-license education
  • Arizona real estate broker license: 90 hours of in-classroom real estate salesperson pre-license education
  • Final Exam:  Your final course exam must be proctored for qualifying education

State Reciprocity:

Arizona is a non-reciprocal state (see Substantive Policy Statement No. 2008.01). That means, even if you hold a real estate license in another state, your education requirements are the same as those of anyone else becoming a real estate agent in Arizona.

Arizona Continuing Education (CE) and Renewal Requirements:

  • Renew their licenses every two years from the date their licenses are issued
  • Arizona salespersons must take 24 hours of real estate CE, including: 
    • 3 hours of agency law
    • 3 hours of contract law
    • 3 hours of communication standards
    • 3 hours of disclosure
    • 3 hours of fair housing
    • 3 hours of real estate legal issues
    • 6 hours of general real estate classes

 

 

 

Arizona Appraisal License Requirements

The information contained below is designed to provide a summary of the minimum education, experience, and examination requirements established by the Real Estate Appraisal Division of the Arizona Department of Financial Institutions. The information provided below can be found on the Board’s website. However, we recommend you contact the Board for more detailed information and for any changes which may have occurred.

Arizona Appraisal Licensure Levels:

  • Licensed Residential Appraiser
  • Certified Residential Appraiser
  • Certified General Appraiser 

Arizona Appraisal Licensure Requirements:

  • Must be at least 18 years of age
  • Must not have had a license or certificate denied within one year preceding the application
  • Must not have had a license or certificate revoked within two years preceding the application
  • Must not have committed any crimes involving dishonesty or moral turpitude
  • Must meet the educational requirement for the applying level of licensure
  • Must meet the experience requirement for the applying level of licensure
  • For Certified Residential level:  A minimum of an Associates Degree OR 21 college semester hours in specific subject matters is also required.  For Certified General level:  A minimum of a Bachelors Degree OR 30 college semester hours in specific subject matters is also required. 
  • Satisfactory completion of the state examination
  • Submit application, required documents, and associated fees.

Arizona Appraisal Education Requirements:

  • 150 hours for the Licensed Residential Appraiser which consist of the following courses:  Basic Appraisal Principles (30 hours), Basic Appraisal Procedures (30 hours), 15 Hour National USPAP Course or its equivalent (15 hours), Residential Market Analysis and Highest and Best Use (15 hours), Residential Appraiser Site Valuation and Cost Approach (15 hours), Residential Report Writing and Case Studies (15 Hours), Residential Sales Comparison and Income Approach (30 hours)
  • 200 Hours for the Certified Residential Real Property Appraiser which consist of the same 150 hours of Licensed Appraiser education AND:  Statistics, Modeling and Finance (15 hours), Advanced Residential Application and Case Studies (15 hours), Appraisal Subject Matter Electives (20 hours)
  • 300 hours for the Certified General Real Property Appraiser which includes the same 200 hours for the Certified Residential Real Property Appraiser education AND:  General Appraiser Sales Comparison and Income Approach (15 hours), General Appraiser Site Valuation and Cost Approach (15 hours), General Appraiser Income Approach (45 hours), General Appraiser Report Writing and Case Studies (10 hours), General Appraiser Market Analysis and Highest and Best Use (15 hours)  

Experience Requirements:

  • Licensed Residential Appraiser – 2000 hours in no less than 18 months
  • Certified Residential Real Property Appraiser – 2500 hours in no less than 24 months
  • Certified General Real Property Appraiser – 3000 hours in no less than 30 months with at least 1500 hours of experience in nonresidential appraisals

Arizona Appraisal Continuing Education Requirements:

  • All licensees must complete 28 hours of continuing education within the renewal cycle
  • At least 7 hours of this requirement must cover the USPAP Update course or its equivalent
  • Continuing Education courses taken through distance education may not exceed 75% of the 28 hours
  • The same course cannot be repeated as use for CE credit within a renewal cycle

Arizona Home Inspection Requirements

Learn about the home inspection courses and qualifications needed for certification and renewal in Arizona.

Requirements to Become a Home Inspector:

The Arizona State Board of Technical Registration establishes the Arizona Home Inspector Licensing Requirements.

  • Education hours required for home inspection certification in the state of Arizona: 84 hours
  • Home inspections required for certification: 30 parallel inspections; 100 home inspections for home inspection license
  • Exam required: NHIE
  • Application fee: $100
  • Application forms are available through the Arizona State Board of Technical Registration.
  • Insurance requirements: E/O insurance of $200,000 in aggregate and $100,000 per occurrence. Bond: $25,000.
  • Notarized application is not required. Background check is not required; however, applicant should disclose. Fingerprinting is required.

Home Inspection License Expiration: License must be renewed annually

Home Inspection Continuing Education Requirements: No CE required for renewal