Connecticut Real Estate License Requirements
Learn about the Connecticut education requirements for real estate licensing and renewal.
Licensing Board/Commission: Connecticut Department of Consumer Protection (DCP) Connecticut Real Estate Commission
Connecticut Real Estate Education Requirements:
- Connecticut real estate salesperson license: a minimum of 60 classroom hours of Real Estate Principles and Practices
- Connecticut real estate broker license: In addition to logging at least 2 years of licensure as a real estate salesperson, applicants must take:
- 60 hours of Principles & Practices
- 15 hours of Legal Compliance
- 15 hours of Broker Principles & Practices
- Two 15-hour prelicense real estate electives
- In lieu of the two 15-hour electives, applicants could take the 30-hour Real Estate Appraisal course or the 20-hour real estate transactions course.
- These courses must have been completed in the previous 5 years.
Connecticut State Reciprocity:
Real estate commissions and boards across the country are adopting policies for a real estate agent in one state to more easily become licensed in another state.
The Connecticut Real Estate Commission has entered into reciprocal agreements with the following states: Alabama, Colorado, Georgia, Illinois, Indiana, Massachusetts, Michigan, Nebraska, New York, North Carolina, Ohio, Oklahoma, Rhode Island and Tennessee.
Connecticut Real Estate Continuing Education (CE) and License Renewal Requirements:
- Real estate salesperson licenses in Connecticut need to be renewed by May 31 on every even-numbered year
- Real estate broker licenses in Connecticut need to be renewed every even-numbered year by March 31
- Two-Three (3) hour 2020 mandatory courses—(both are required):
- CT Real Estate Agency Law Review & Fair Housing I
- CT Real Estate Agency Law Review & Fair Housing 2
- Six (6) hours of real estate elective courses