Delaware License Requirements

Your resource for understanding all real estate, appraisal and home inspection state license requirements

Course Search

Delaware Real Estate License Requirements

Learn about the Delaware education needs for real estate licensing and renewal.

Licensing Board/Commission: Delaware Real Estate Commission

Delaware Real Estate License Requirements: 

  • Delaware real estate salesperson license: 99 Hours
  • Education hours required for a real estate broker license : 99 Hours
  • Delaware requires an additional 21 hours of post-license real estate courses

Delaware State Reciprocity:

If you have a real estate license in another state and are applying for a reciprocal license, you must provide the following (in addition to the requirements for all applicants). The original score report you received from Pearson VUE when you passed the Delaware law portion of the salesperson’s examination; and one of the following:

  • Copy of the certificate you received when you completed the Delaware law portion of the salesperson’s prelicense course
  • Copy of the certificate received when you completed another jurisdiction’s prelicense salesperson’s course of at least 99 hours
  • Certificate of licensure history showing that you have been licensed continuously for the 3 years immediately before this application and a completed, signed Sales or Lease Transaction Listing form listing 20 sales or lease transactions that you completed during the 3 years immediately before your application 

Delaware Real Estate Continuing Education (CE) and License Renewal Requirements:

As a real estate professional in Delaware, you must renew your real estate license by April 30 of even years. Delaware salespersons must complete 21 hours of real estate CE, including:

  • 18 hours must be core curriculum
  • 3 hours must be electives

Delaware Appraisal License Requirements

The information contained below is designed to provide a summary of the minimum education, experience, and examination requirements established by the Delaware Division of Professional Regulation Council on Real Estate Appraisers. The information provided below can be found on the Board’s website. However, we recommend you contact the Board for more detailed information and for any changes which may have occurred.

Delaware Appraisal Licensure Levels:

  • Appraiser Trainee
  • Licensed Real Property Appraiser
  • Certified Residential Real Property Appraiser
  • Certified General Real Property Appraiser

Delaware AppraisalLicensure Requirements:

  • Must be at least 18 years of age
  • Must have a high school diploma or its equivalent
  • Must meet the educational requirement for the applying level of licensure
  • Must meet the experience requirement for the applying level of licensure
  • For Certified Residential level:  A minimum of an Associate’s Degree OR 21 college semester hours in specific subject matters is also required. 
  • For Certified General level:  A minimum of a Bachelor’s Degree OR 30 college semester hours in specific subject matters is also required. 
  • Satisfactory completion of the state examination
  • Submit application, required documents, and associated fees. 

Delaware Appraisal Education Requirements:

  • 75 hours for the Appraiser Trainee which consist of the following courses:  Basic Appraisal Principles (30 hours), Basic Appraisal Procedures (30 hours), 15 Hour National USPAP Course or its equivalent (15 hours)
  • 150 Hours for the Licensed Real Property Appraiser which consist of the same 75 hours of Trainee education AND:  Residential Market Analysis and Highest and Best Use (15 hours), Residential Appraiser Site Valuation and Cost Approach (15 hours), Residential Report Writing and Case Studies (15 Hours), Residential Sales Comparison and Income Approach (30 hours)
  • 200 Hours for the Certified Residential Real Property Appraiser which consist of the same 75 hours of Provisional Licensed Appraiser education AND:  Residential Market Analysis and Highest and Best Use (15 hours), Residential Appraiser Site Valuation and Cost Approach (15 hours), Residential Report Writing and Case Studies (15 Hours), Residential Sales Comparison and Income Approach (30 hours) Statistics, Modeling and Finance (15 hours), Advanced Residential Application and Case Studies (15 hours), Appraisal Subject Matter Electives (20 hours)
  • 300 hours for the Certified General Real Property Appraiser which includes the same 200 hours for the Certified Residential Real Property Appraiser education AND:  General Appraiser Sales Comparison and Income Approach (15 hours), General Appraiser Site Valuation and Cost Approach (15 hours), General Appraiser Income Approach (45 hours), General Appraiser Report Writing and Case Studies (10 hours), General Appraiser Market Analysis and Highest and Best Use (15 hours)

Experience Requirements:

  • Appraiser Trainee – no work experience requirement 
  • Licensed Real Property Appraiser – 2000 hours in no less than 24 months
  • Certified Residential Real Property Appraiser – 2500 hours in no less than 24 months
  • Certified General Real Property Appraiser – 3000 hours in no less than 30 months since the first appraisal

Delaware Appraisal Continuing Education Requirements:

  • Licensees expire on October 31st of odd number years
  • Licensees must complete 28 hours of continuing education within the renewal cycle
  • 3 Hours must cover Delaware, Law, Rules, and Regulations
  • At least 7 hours of this requirement must cover the USPAP Update course or its equivalent

Delaware Home Inspection Requirements

Learn about the home inspection courses and qualifications needed for certification and renewal in Delaware. 

Requirements to Become a Delaware Home Inspector:

The Delaware Division of Professional Regulation Board of Home Inspectors establishes the Delaware Home Inspector Licensing Requirements.

  • Delaware home inspection education hours: 140 hours
  • Inspections: 75 under “active oversight”
  • Exam Required: NHIE
  • Insurance Requirements: E/O insurance equal to or greater than $50, 000 and liability insurance equal to or greater than $250,000
  • A High School Diploma or GED is required
  • Notarized application and background check are required. Fingerprints are not required. No minimum age requirement.
  • Application Fee: $150 for trainee (other fees may apply)

Home Inspection License Expiration: 8/31 every two years (odd)

Home Inspection Continuing Education Requirements: 40 hours every two years by 8/31