Kansas Real Estate License Requirements
Learn about the Kansas education requirements for real estate licensing and renewal.
Licensing Board/Commission: Kansas Real Estate Commission (KREC)
Kansas Real Estate Education Requirements:
- Kansas real estate salesperson license: 60 hours (The 30-hour Principles of Real Estate course is required before taking the license exam. The 30-hour Kansas Practice course is required prior to applying for a Kansas real estate salesperson's license.)
- Kansas real estate broker license: 24 hours (The 24-hour Broker's Pre-license course is required before taking the license exam, but no continuing education credit is given for this course. The course must be approved by the Commission and is available by classroom or home-study method.)
- Final exams: Your final course exam must be proctored for qualifying education
Effective July 1, 2019: a 30-hour Kansas Real Estate Broker Fundamentals course is required for licenses issued on or after July 1, 2019.
Kansas State Reciprocity:
Real estate commissions and boards across the country are adopting policies for a real estate agent in one state to more easily become licensed in another state.
In Kansas, if an applicant holds a current broker’s or salesperson’s license in another state, the applicant does not have to complete Kansas’ prelicense course or the national portion of the exam. Applicants must submit current certification of license history from any jurisdictions that have issued a real estate license to the applicant. This must be filed no later than six months from the issue date of the certification.
If the applicant is applying for a salesperson's license, he or she must complete the Kansas practice course and pass the Kansas portion of the exam. An active Kansas supervising broker must sign the license application. If the applicant is applying for a broker's license, he or she must complete the 4-hour Kansas law course and pass the Kansas portion of the exam.
Kansas Real Estate Continuing Education (CE) and License Renewal Requirements:
- Real estate professionals’ license renewals in Kansas are staggered over a two-year period with licenses expiring in groups based on the first letter of your last name
- Real estate licensees in Kansas must complete 12 hours of real estate CE, and of these 3 hours must be the required salesperson and broker core course
- Final exams: Your final course exam must be proctored. Final exams may only be taken twice.