Maine License Requirements

Your resource for understanding all real estate, appraisal and home inspection state license requirements

Course Search

Maine Real Estate License Requirements

Learn about the Maine real estate education requirements for licensing and renewal.

Licensing Board/Commission: State of Maine Professional & Financial Regulations Real Estate Commission

Maine Real Estate License Requirements:

  • Maine real estate salesperson license: 55 hours 
  • Maine real estate broker license: 60 hours for an associate broker and 50 hours for a designated broker                                   
  • To apply to become an associate broker in Maine, an applicant must have been licensed as an active sales agent affiliated with a real estate brokerage for two years, with five years of experience. 
  • To apply to become a designated broker in Maine, an applicant must have been an associate broker affiliated with a real estate brokerage agency for two years within the past five years. Completion of a designated broker course with a minimum final grade of 75% is also required.

Main State Reciprocity:

Real estate commissions and boards across the country are adopting policies for a real estate agent in one state to more easily become licensed in another state.

In Maine, an equal license may be issued to any person who holds a current and active real estate license in another jurisdiction after meeting the requirements for the license.

These requirements include completing a license application, holding a high school diploma and being at least 18 years old. Additionally, those applying for reciprocity will need to pass the Maine law examination administered by Pearson VUE and furnish their certificate of licensure from their home state, showing the applicant holds a current and active license.

Note: An application for a license must be made within one year of passing the Maine law exam.

Maine Real Estate Continuing Education (CE) and License Renewal Requirements:

  • Real estate professionals in Maine need to renew their real estate licenses every two years from the date their licenses were issued. 
  • Maine requires 21 hours of real estate CE classes, including 18 hours of electives and a 3-hour core course, the topic for which changes every two years or so.

Maine Appraisal License Requirements

The information contained below is designed to provide a summary of the minimum education, experience, and examination requirements established by the Maine Board of Real Estate Appraisers. The information provided below can be found on the Board’s website. However, we recommend you contact the Board for more detailed information and for any changes which may have occurred.

Maine Appraisal Licensure Levels:

  • Trainee Real Property Appraiser
  • Licensed Residential Real Property Appraiser
  • Certified Residential Real Property Appraiser
  • Certified General Real Property Appraiser

Maine Appraisal Licensure Requirements:

  • Must be at least 18 years of age
  • Must have a high school diploma or its equivalent
  • Must meet the educational requirement for the applying level of licensure
  • Must meet the experience requirement for the applying level of licensure
  • For Certified Residential level:  A minimum of an Associates Degree OR 21 college semester hours in specific subject matters is also required
  • For Certified General level:  A minimum of a Bachelors Degree OR 30 college semester hours in specific subject matters is also required
  • Satisfactory completion of the state examination (Trainees are not required to take a state exam)
  • Submit application, required documents, and associated fees
  • Trainee licenses are issued for a period of one year and may be renewed five times. If you do not complete the requirements for licensure by the end of the sixth year, you must re-apply for another trainee license

Maine Appraisal Education Requirements:

  • 75 hours for the Trainee Real Property Appraiser which consist of the following courses:  Basic Appraisal Principles (30 hours), Basic Appraisal Procedures (30 hours), 15 Hour National USPAP Course or its equivalent (15 hours)
  • 150 hours for the Licensed Residential Real Property Appraiser which include the same hour requirement as the Trainee level AND:  Residential Market Analysis and Highest and Best Use (15 hours), Residential Appraiser Site Valuation and Cost Approach (15 hours), Residential Report Writing and Case Studies (15 Hours), Residential Sales Comparison and Income Approach (30 hours)
  • 200 Hours for the Certified Residential Appraiser which consist of the same 150 hours of Licensed Residential Appraiser education AND:  Statistics, Modeling and Finance (15 hours), Advanced Residential Application and Case Studies (15 hours), Appraisal Subject Matter Electives (20 hours)
  • 300 hours for the Certified General Appraiser which includes the same 200 hours for the Certified Residential Appraiser education AND:  Income Property Appraisal (60 hours), General Appraiser Report Writing and Case Studies (10 hours), General Appraiser Market Analysis and Highest and Best Use (15 hours)

Experience Requirements:

  • Trainee Real Property Appraiser – No experience requirement
  • Licensed Residential Real Property Appraiser – 2000 hours in no less than 12 months
  • Certified Residential Appraiser – 2500 hours in no less than 24 months
  • Certified General Appraiser – 3000 hours in no less than 30 months with at least 1500 hours of experience in non-residential appraisals 

Maine Appraisal Continuing Education Requirements:

  • All appraiser licenses expire annually on December 31st 
  • Appraisers must complete 14 hours of continuing education each renewal cycle 
  • All appraisers must take the 7 hour USPAP Update course or its equivalent in even number years. 

Maine Home Inspection Requirements

Learn about the Maine home inspection courses and qualifications needed for certification and renewal.

Requirements to Become a Home Inspector: There are no current requirements 

Home Inspection License Expiration: N/A

Home Inspection Continuing Education Requirements: No CE currently required