Michigan License Requirements

Your resource for understanding all real estate, appraisal and home inspection state license requirements

Course Search

Michigan Real Estate License Requirements

Learn about the Michigan education requirements for real estate licensing and renewal.

Licensing Board/Commission: CE Marketplace - LARA Department of Licensing and Regulatory Affairs

Michigan Real Estate License Requirements:

  • All licensees must be at least 18 years of age and of good moral character. Broker applicants must have at least 3 years of acceptable real estate related experience
  • Michigan real estate salesperson license: 40 hours which includes at least 4 hours of civil rights law and equal opportunity in housing
  • Michigan real estate broker license: 90 hours which includes at least 9 hours of civil rights law and equal opportunity in housing

Michigan State Reciprocity:

Real estate commissions and boards across the country are adopting policies for a real estate agent in one state to more easily become licensed in another state.

There is no reciprocity between Michigan and any other state.

Michigan Real Estate Continuing Education (CE) and License Renewal Requirements:

  • Real estate professionals must renew their licenses by October 31 every three years 
  • Michigan requires licensees to complete 18 hours of real estate CE in each 3-year period, which includes 2 hours of legal updates classes that must be completed during each year of the license cycle

Michigan Appraisal License Requirements

The information contained below is designed to provide a summary of the minimum education, experience, and examination requirements established by the LARA Department of Licensing and Regulatory Affairs. The information provided below can be found on the Board’s website. However, we recommend you contact the Board for more detailed information and for any changes which may have occurred.

Michigan Appraisal Licensure Levels:

  • Limited Real Estate Appraiser
  • State Licensed Real Estate Appraiser
  • Certified Residential Appraiser
  • Certified General Appraiser

Michigan Appraisal Licensure Requirements:

  • Must be at least 18 years of age
  • Must have a high school diploma or its equivalent
  • Must be of good moral character
  • Must meet the educational requirement for the applying level of licensure
  • Must meet the experience requirement for the applying level of licensure
  • For Certified Residential level:  A minimum of an Associate’s Degree OR 21 college semester hours in specific subject matters is also required
  • For Certified General level:  A minimum of a Bachelor’s Degree OR 30 college semester hours in specific subject matters is also required
  • Satisfactory completion of the state examination (Limited Real Estate Appraisers are not required to take a state exam)
  • Submit application, required documents, and associated fees

Michigan Appraisal Education Requirements:

  • 75 hours for the Limited Real Estate Appraiser which consist of the following courses:  Basic Appraisal Principles (30 hours), Basic Appraisal Procedures (30 hours), 15 Hour National USPAP Course or its equivalent (15 hours)
  • 150 hours for the State Licensed Real Estate Appraiser which include the same hour requirement as the Limited Real Estate Appraiser level AND:  Residential Market Analysis and Highest and Best Use (15 hours), Residential Appraiser Site Valuation and Cost Approach (15 hours), Residential Report Writing and Case Studies (15 Hours), Residential Sales Comparison and Income Approach (30 hours)
  • 200 Hours for the Certified Residential Real Estate Appraiser which consist of the same 150 hours of Licensed Residential Appraiser education AND:  Statistics, Modeling and Finance (15 hours), Advanced Residential Application and Case Studies (15 hours), Appraisal Subject Matter Electives (20 hours)
  • 300 hours for the Certified General Real Estate Appraiser which includes the same 200 hours for the Certified Residential Appraiser education AND:  Income Property Appraisal (60 hours), General Appraiser Report Writing and Case Studies (10 hours), General Appraiser Market Analysis and Highest and Best Use (15 hours)

Experience Requirements:

  • Limited Real Estate Appraiser – No experience requirement
  • State Licensed Real Estate Appraiser – 2000 hours including 1500 in residential experience in no less than 12 months
  • Certified Residential Real Estate Appraiser – 2500 hours including 1500 hours in residential experience in not less than 24 months
  • Certified General Real Estate Appraiser – 3000 hours in not less than 30 months with at least 1500 hours of experience in nonresidential appraisals

Michigan Appraisal Continuing Education Requirements:

  • Licenses expire on July 31 of the renewal year. New licenses issued after the first week in April will expire on July 31 of the following year
  • License renewals not received by July 31 can be renewed with submission of the regular renewal fee, plus a $20.00 late fee until September 29.  Beginning September 30 of the renewal year the licensee must apply for relicensure.  Licensees must take 28 hours of education during the two year renewal cycle
  • In accordance with the Appraiser Qualifications Board Criteria, effective July 1, 2013 Limited Real Estate Appraisers are required to complete 14 hours of approved continuing education from the date of licensure
  • To ensure that your renewal is processed timely, continuing education should be completed and reported to the department no later than May 30 of each renewal year, even though the deadline for continuing education is July 31 of each renewal year. The hours may be completed at any time during the 2-year renewal period, which begins August 1 of each renewal year
  • The 7-hour National USPAP course must be completed every renewal period.  Also, a 2-hour course on Michigan appraiser licensing law and rules must be completed every 2 years

Michigan Home Inspection Requirements

Learn about the Michigan home inspection courses and qualifications needed for certification and renewal.  

Requirements to Become a Home Inspector: There are no current requirements

Home Inspection License Expiration: N/A

Home Inspection Continuing Education Requirements: No CE currently required