Mississippi License Requirements

Your resource for understanding all real estate, appraisal and home inspection state license requirements

Course Search

Mississippi Real Estate License Requirements

Learn about the Mississippi real estate education needs for licensing and renewal.

Licensing Board/Commission: Mississippi Real Estate Commission (MREC)

Mississippi Real Estate Licesne Requirements: 

  • Mississippi real estate salesperson license: 60 hours
  • Mississippi real estate broker license: 120 hours

Mississippi State Reciprocity:

Any real estate licensee of another state who desires to obtain a license in Mississippi is exempt from the examination as long as the Commission feels the exam is equivalent to Mississippi’s and that state extends this same privilege or exemption to Mississippi real estate licensees.   

Mississippi Real Estate Continuing Education (CE) and License Renewal Requirements:

  • Real estate professionals in Mississippi must renew their real estate licenses every two years from the date their licenses are issued
  • The real estate CE that must be completed by this date includes 16 hours of real estate classes 
  • Of those 16 hours, 8 hours may be electives and 8 hours must be core courses, including 2 hours of Mississippi real estate license law, 2 hours of contract law and 4 hours of agency law

Mississippi Appraisal License Requirements

The information contained below is designed to provide a summary of the minimum education, experience, and examination requirements established by the Mississippi Appraisal Board. The information provided below can be found on the Board’s website. However, we recommend you contact the Board for more detailed information and for any changes which may have occurred.

Mississippi Appraisal Licensure Levels:

  • Appraiser Intern
  • Licensed Appraiser (Track 1 and Track 2)
  • Certified Residential Appraiser
  • Certified General Appraiser

Mississippi Appraisal Licensure Requirements:

  • Must be at least 18 years of age
  • Must have a high school diploma or its equivalent
  • Must meet the educational requirement for the applying level of licensure
  • Must meet the experience requirement for the applying level of licensure
  • For Certified Residential level:  A minimum of an Associates Degree OR 21 college semester hours in specific subject matters is also required
  • For Certified General level:  A minimum of a Bachelors Degree OR 30 college semester hours in specific subject matters is also required
  • Satisfactory completion of the state examination
  • Submit application, required documents, and associated fees

Mississippi Appraisal Education Requirements:

  • 75 hours for the Appraiser Intern which consist of the following courses:  Basic Appraisal Principles (30 hours), Basic Appraisal Procedures (30 hours), 15 Hour National USPAP Course or its equivalent (15 hours)
  • 150 hours for the Licensed Appraiser which include the same hour requirement as the Appraiser Intern level AND:  Residential Market Analysis and Highest and Best Use (15 hours), Residential Appraiser Site Valuation and Cost Approach (15 hours), Residential Report Writing and Case Studies (15 Hours), Residential Sales Comparison and Income Approach (30 hours)
  • 200 Hours for the Certified Residential Appraiser which consist of the same 150 hours of Licensed Residential Appraiser education AND:  Statistics, Modeling and Finance (15 hours), Advanced Residential Application and Case Studies (15 hours), Appraisal Subject Matter Electives (20 hours)
  • 300 hours for the Certified General Appraiser which includes the same 200 hours for the Certified Residential Appraiser education AND:  Income Property Appraisal (60 hours), General Appraiser Report Writing and Case Studies (10 hours), General Appraiser Market Analysis and Highest and Best Use (15 hours) 

Experience Requirements:

  • Appraiser Intern – No experience requirement
  • Licensed Appraiser Track 1 – 1000 hours in no less than 6 months
  • Licensed Appraiser Track 2 – No experience requirement 
  • Certified Residential Appraiser – 2500 hours in not less than 24 months
  • Certified General Appraiser – 3000 hours in not less than 30 months with at least 1500 hours of experience in non-residential appraisals 

Mississippi Appraisal Continuing Education Requirements:

  • All license expire on two years from the last day of the month of issuance 
  • All appraisers must complete 28 hours of continuing education during the two year cycle 
  • 7 of those hours must cover the USPAP Update course 

Mississippi Home Inspection Requirements

Learn about the Mississippi home inspection courses and qualifications needed for certification and renewal. 

Mississippi Requirements to Become a Home Inspector:

  • Application through the Mississippi Real Estate Commission Home Inspector Division
  • Mississippi home inspection education hours: 60 hours
  • Exam Required: NHIE
  • Application Fee: $175
  • Insurance Requirements: Carry $250,000 per occurrence in General Liability Insurance and $250,000 per occurrence in Errors & Omissions Insurance
  • Notarized application is required. Background check and fingerprints are not required.
  • Minimum age requirement: 21
  • A High School Diploma or GED is required

Mississippi Home Inspection License Expiration: Every two years

Mississippi Home Inspection Continuing Education Requirements: 20 hours of continuing education is needed every two years, based upon license issuance for renewal