Oklahoma License Requirements

Your resource for understanding all real estate, appraisal and home inspection state license requirements

Course Search

Oklahoma Real Estate License Requirements

Learn about the Oklahoma education requirements for real estate licensing and renewal. 

Licensing Board/Commission: Oklahoma Real Estate Commission 

Oklahoma Real Estate Requirements:

  • Oklahoma real estate salesperson license: 45 hours
  • Oklahoma real estate broker license: N/A
  • Oklahoma requires an additional 45 hours of post-license education courses

Oklahoma State Reciprocity

Real estate commissions and boards across the country are adopting policies for a real estate agent in one state to more easily become licensed in another state.

The Oklahoma Real Estate Commission has entered into numerous nonresident agreements with other jurisdictions so as to streamline the process for obtaining multiple licenses. The listing can be found on the Oklahoma Real Estate Commission’s website. The applicant would need to contact their education department for the exact requirements, since all agreements differ in some aspect or another. 

If a state or jurisdiction has not entered into an agreement with Oklahoma, the general rule is that a nonresident active licensee who applies for a nonresident Oklahoma license must:

  • possess a minimum of two years of active experience (out of the previous five years) as a sales associate or broker respectively
  • provide a certificate of license history indicating the license is in good standing in their state or jurisdiction of licensure
  • complete all appropriate forms and pay all required fees
  • receive final approval of their application

Oklahoma Continuing Education (CE) and License Renewal Requirements:

  • Real estate professionals in Oklahoma must renew their real estate licenses every three years from the date of license issuance
  • Licensees must take 21 hours of real estate CE classes
  • Of these, 6 hours must cover the six core subjects: professional conduct, fair housing, The Broker Relationships Act, hot topics, the Oklahoma Code and Rules and professional conduct

Oklahoma Appraisal License Requirements

The information contained below is designed to provide a summary of the minimum education, experience, and examination requirements established by the Oklahoma Real Estate Appraiser Board. The information provided below can be found on the Board’s website. However, we recommend you contact the Board for more detailed information and for any changes which may have occurred.

Oklahoma Appraisal Licensure Levels:

  • Trainee Appraiser
  • Licensed Appraiser
  • Certified Residential Appraiser
  • Certified General Appraiser

Oklahoma Appraisal Licensure Requirements:

  • Must be at least 18 years of age
  • Must have a high school diploma or its equivalent
  • Must meet the educational requirement for the applying level of licensure
  • Must meet the experience requirement for the applying level of licensure
  • For Certified Residential level: A minimum of an Associate’s Degree OR 21 college semester hours in specific subject matters is also required.
  • For Certified General level: A minimum of a Bachelor’s Degree OR 30 college semester hours in specific subject matters is also required
  • Satisfactory completion of the state examination (Not required for the Trainee Appraiser)
  • Submit application, required documents, and associated fees

Oklahoma Appraisal Education Requirements:

  • 75 hours for the Trainee Appraiser Assistant which consist of the following courses:  Basic Appraisal Principles (30 hours), Basic Appraisal Procedures (30 hours), 15 Hour National USPAP Course or its equivalent (15 hours)
  • 150 hours for the Licensed Appraiser which include the same hour requirement as the Trainee Appraiser Assistant level AND:  Residential Market Analysis and Highest and Best Use (15 hours), Residential Appraiser Site Valuation and Cost Approach (15 hours), Residential Report Writing and Case Studies (15 Hours), Residential Sales Comparison and Income Approach (30 hours)
  • 200 Hours for the Certified Residential Appraiser which consist of the same 150 hours of Licensed Appraiser education AND:  Statistics, Modeling and Finance (15 hours), Advanced Residential Application and Case Studies (15 hours), Appraisal Subject Matter Electives (20 hours)
  • 300 hours for the Certified General Appraiser which includes the same 200 hours for the Certified Residential Appraiser education AND:  Income Property Appraisal (60 hours), General Appraiser Report Writing and Case Studies (10 hours), General Appraiser Market Analysis and Highest and Best Use (15 hours)

Experience Requirements:

  • Trainee Appraiser– No experience required
  • Licensed Appraiser - 2000 hours in no less than 12 months 
  • Certified Residential Appraiser – 2500 hours in no less than 24 months
  • Certified General Appraiser – 3000 hours in no less than 30 months with at least 1500 hours of experience in non-residential appraisals

Oklahoma Continuing Education Requirements:

  • All appraisers must renew their licenses three years from date of issuance 
  • All appraisers must complete 42 hours of continuing education over the three year period 
  • The 7 hour USPAP Update course or its equivalent must be taken during each two year period ending on December 31st of even number years 
  • Only 21 hours of continuing education may be taken via distance education 

Oklahoma Home Inspection Requirements

Learn about the Oklahoma home inspection courses and qualifications needed for certification and renewal.

Requirements to Become an Oklahoma Home Inspector:

The Oklahoma Construction Industries Board establishes the Oklahoma Home Inspection Licensing Requirements.

  • Oklahoma home inspection education hours: 90 hours
  • Exam Required: NHIE or similar qualifying exam
  • Application Fee: $280 
  • Insurance Requirements: Gen Lib min $50,000 combined single limit for bodily injury and property damage
  • Notarized applications are required
  • Background check, and fingerprints are not required
  • Minimum age requirement: 18

Home Inspection License Expiration: Annually from date of issuance 

Home Inspection Continuing Education Requirements: 8 hours annually