Texas License Requirements

Your resource for understanding all real estate, appraisal and home inspection state license requirements

Course Search

Texas Real Estate License Requirements

Learn about the Texas education requirements for real estate licensing and renewal.

Licensing Board/Commission: Texas Real Estate Commission (TREC)

Texas Real Estate Education Requirements:

  • Texas real estate salesperson license: 180 hours
  • Texas real estate broker license: 900 hours (This includes 270 hours in qualifying mandatory plus 630 hours of related qualifying or CE. Or an applicant who has earned a bachelor's degree or higher from an accredited college or university will be deemed to have satisfied the related qualifying education requirements for a broker license. A copy of the college transcript awarding the degree must be submitted as evidence of completion of the degree.) 
  • Texas requires an additional 90 hours of post-license education courses.

Texas State Reciprocity:

Real estate commissions and boards across the country are adopting policies for a real estate agent in one state to more easily become licensed in another state.

Texas, however, does not have reciprocal agreements with any other state.

Texas Real Estate Continuing Education (CE) and License Renewal Requirements:

  • Real estate professionals in Texas must renew their real estate licenses every two years in the month their licenses were received
  • Licensees must complete 18 hours of real estate CE classes in each two-year cycle
  • This includes taking the 4-hour Legal Update I course on laws, rules and forms and the 4-hour Legal Update II course on agency, ethics and hot topics

Texas Appraisal License Requirements

The information contained below is designed to provide a summary of the minimum education, experience, and examination requirements established by the Texas Appraiser Licensing & Certification Board. The information provided below can be found on the Board’s website. However, we recommend you contact the Board for more detailed information and for any changes which may have occurred.

Texas Appraisal Licensure Levels:

  • Appraiser Trainee 
  • Licensed Appraiser
  • Certified Residential Appraiser
  • Certified General Appraise

Texas Appraisal Licensure Requirements:

  • Must be at least 18 years of age
  • Must have a high school diploma or its equivalent
  • Must meet the educational requirement for the applying level of licensure
  • Must meet the experience requirement for the applying level of licensure
  • For Certified Residential level: A minimum of an Associate’s Degree OR 21 college semester hours in specific subject matters is also required
  • For Certified General level: A minimum of a Bachelor’s Degree OR 30 college semester hours in specific subject matters is also required
  • Satisfactory completion of the state examination (Appraiser Trainees are not required to take the state exam.)
  • Submit application, required documents, and associated fees

Texas Appraisal Education Requirements:

  • 75 hours for the Appraiser Trainee which consist of the following courses: Basic Appraisal Principles (30 hours), Basic Appraisal Procedures (30 hours),15 Hour National USPAP Course or its equivalent (15 hours)
  • 150 hours for the Licensed Appraiser which include the same hour requirement as the Appraiser Trainee level AND:  Residential Market Analysis and Highest and Best Use (15 hours), Residential Appraiser Site Valuation and Cost Approach (15 hours), Residential Report Writing and Case Studies (15 Hours), Residential Sales Comparison and Income Approach (30 hours)
  • 200 Hours for the Certified Residential Appraiser which consist of the same 150 hours of Licensed Appraiser education AND: Statistics, Modeling and Finance (15 hours), Advanced Residential Application and Case Studies (15 hours), Appraisal Subject Matter Electives (20 hours)
  • 300 hours for the Certified General Appraiser which includes the same 200 hours for the Certified Residential Appraiser education AND: Income Property Appraisal (60 hours), General Appraiser Report Writing and Case Studies (10 hours), General Appraiser Market Analysis and Highest and Best Use (15 hours)

Experience Requirements:

  • Appraiser Trainee – No experience required
  • Licensed Appraiser – 2000 hours in no less than 12 months 
  • Certified Residential Appraiser – 2500 hours in no less than 24 months
  • Certified General Appraiser – 3000 hours in no less than 30 months with at least 1500 hours of experience in non-residential appraisals  

Texas Appraisal Continuing Education Requirements:

  • All appraiser licenses expire two years from the date of issuance, trainees must renew every year
  • All appraisers are required to complete 28 hours of continuing education during the two year cycle 
  • 7 hours must cover the USPAP Update course or its equivalent 
  • TX Rule: Course work repeated within a three-year period will NOT receive course credit, with the exception of the USPAP Update, which must be taken every 2 years.  

Texas Home Inspection Requirements

Learn about the home inspection courses and qualifications needed for certification and renewal in Texas. 

Requirements to Become a Texas Home Inspector:

The Texas Real Estate Commission establishes the Texas Inspector Licensing Requirements.

Application Requirements:

  • Citizen of the United States or a lawfully admitted alien
  • At least 18 years of age
  • Satisfy the Commission’s requirements for honesty, integrity and trustworthiness
  • Insurance: Liability insurance with a minimum of $100,000 per occurrence and an aggregate annual total of a minimum of $100,000
  • Application fee: $130 (other fees may apply)
  • Exam: NHIE plus Texas specific exam
  • Fingerprinting and background check is required

Education Requirements:

  • Education Requirements: 394 hours 
  • Inspections: 40 hours of field training

Home Inspection License Expiration: Every two years from date of issuance

Home Inspection Continuing Education Requirements: 16 hours annually, 32 total hours per renewal cycle