Vermont License Requirements

Your resource for understanding all real estate, appraisal and home inspection state license requirements

Course Search

Vermont Real Estate License Requirements

Learn about the Vermont education needs for real estate licensing and renewal.

Licensing Board/Commission: Vermont Secretary of State - Vermont Real Estate Commission 

Vermont Real Estate Education Requirements:

  • Virginia real estate salesperson license in the state of Vermont: 40 hours
  • Virginia real estate broker license in the state of Vvermont: 40 hours

Vermont State Reciprocity:

Real estate commissions and boards across the country are adopting policies for a real estate agents in one state to more easily become licensed in another state.

In Vermont, the Commission may waive all or a part of the examination requirement if the applicant is a real estate broker or salesperson regulated under the laws of another jurisdiction, who is in good standing to practice in that jurisdiction and, in the opinion of the commission, the jurisdiction's examination is substantially equal to that required by this chapter.

Vermont Continuing Education (CE) and License Renewal Requirements:

  • Real estate salespersons in Vermont must renew their licenses by May 31 of even-numbered years. Salesperson licensees must complete 16 hours of real estate CE. Salespersons renewing for the second or subsequent time must take the 4-hour mandatory course.
  • Real estate brokers in Vermont must renew their licenses by March 31 of even-numbered years. Broker licensees must complete 24 hours of real estate CE. This includes the 4-hour mandatory course.

Vermont Appraisal License Requirements

The information contained below is designed to provide a summary of the minimum education, experience, and examination requirements established by the Vermont Secretary of State-Real Estate Appraisers. The information provided below can be found on the Board’s website. However, we recommend you contact the Board for more detailed information and for any changes which may have occurred. 

Vermont Appraisal Licensure Levels:

  • Appraiser Trainee 
  • Licensed Appraiser
  • Certified Residential Appraiser
  • Certified General Appraiser

Vermont Appraisal Licensure Requirements:

  • Must be at least 18 years of age
  • Must have a high school diploma or its equivalent
  • Must meet the educational requirement for the applying level of licensure
  • Must meet the experience requirement for the applying level of licensure
  • For Certified Residential level: A minimum of an Associate’s Degree OR 21 college semester hours in specific subject matters is also required. 
  • For Certified General level: A minimum of a Bachelor’s Degree OR 30 college semester hours in specific subject matters is also required. 
  • Satisfactory completion of the state examination
  • Submit application, required documents, and associated fees

Vermont Appraisal Education Requirements:

  • 75 hours for the Appraiser Trainee which consist of the following courses: Basic Appraisal Principles (30 hours), Basic Appraisal Procedures (30 hours),15 Hour National USPAP Course or its equivalent (15 hours)
  • 150 hours for the Licensed Appraiser which include the same hour requirement as the Appraiser Trainee level AND:  Residential Market Analysis and Highest and Best Use (15 hours), Residential Appraiser Site Valuation and Cost Approach (15 hours), Residential Report Writing and Case Studies (15 Hours), Residential Sales Comparison and Income Approach (30 hours)
  • 200 Hours for the Certified Residential Appraiser which consist of the same 150 hours of Licensed Appraiser education AND: Statistics, Modeling and Finance (15 hours), Advanced Residential Application and Case Studies (15 hours), Appraisal Subject Matter Electives (20 hours)
  • 300 hours for the Certified General Appraiser which includes the same 200 hours for the Certified Residential Appraiser education AND: Income Property Appraisal (60 hours), General Appraiser Report Writing and Case Studies (10 hours), General Appraiser Market Analysis and Highest and Best Use (15 hours) 

Experience Requirements:

  • Appraiser Trainee – No experience required
  • Licensed Appraiser – 2000 hours in no less than 12 months 
  • Certified Residential Appraiser – 2500 hours in no less than 24 months
  • Certified General Appraiser – 3000 hours in no less than 30 months with at least 1500 hours of experience in non-residential appraisals

Vermont Appraisal Continuing Education Requirements:

  • Effective June 1, 2013 licensees will be issued a one year license requiring 14hrs. of continuing education. Trainees renew by October 31st and all other appraisers renew by May 31st.  
  • 7 hours must cover the USPAP Update course or its equivalent must be taken every other year

Vermont Home Inspection Requirements

Learn about the home inspection courses and qualifications needed for certification and renewal in Vermont. 

Requirements to Become a Vermont Home Inspector:  

The Vermont Office of Professional Regulation establishes the Vermont Property Inspector requirements.

  • Vermont home inspection education hours: 80 hours
  • Exam: NHIE
  • Application Fee: $100 (other fees may apply)
  • Notarized application, background check, and fingerprinting not required
  • Minimum age: 18
  • High School Diploma or GED required

Home Inspection License Expiration:  Every two years

Home Inspection Continuing Education Requirements: No CE currently required