Loading...

Hawaii License Requirements

Get an understanding of mortgage lending and insurance state licensing and continuing education requirements

Course Search

Hawaii Mortgage License Requirements

Learn about the Hawaii mortgage education requirements for mortgage licensing.

In the state of Hawaii, mortgage loan originators are required to:

    1. Complete federal and state Criminal Background Checks (CBC).
    2. Authorize a credit report through the NMLS.
    3. Fulfill all state and federal education requirements as designated by your state agency.
    4. Take and pass a National test within 12 months of completing pre-licensing education.

Hawaii NMLS Pre-Licensing Education Requirements:

New state-licensed MLOs are required to complete 20 hours of NMLS-approved education. This includes:

  • 3 hours of federal law
  • 3 hours of ethics
  • 2 hours of non-traditional mortgage lending training
  • 9 hours of electives
  • 3 hours of Hawaii state-specific education

NOTE:  Upon completion of the pre-licensing education, an individual has up to twelve months to apply for licensure as a mortgage loan originator. An individual who applies for licensure after the twelve months have expired will be required to repeat the pre-licensing education requirements.

 

Hawaii Continuing Education Requirements:

State-licensed MLOs are required to complete 8 hours of NMLS-approved mortgage education annually beginning the year they are licensed (unless PE was completed in the same year). This includes:

  • 3 hours of federal law
  • 2 hours of ethics
  • 2 hours of non-traditional mortgage lending
  • 1 hour of Hawaii state-specific education

MLOs are advised that to comply with the SAFE Act’s “successive years” rule, they may not take the same CE course two years in a row.

Hawaii Mortgage Licensing:

NMLS Resources: