Absorb concepts faster
by choosing a format that best suits your learning style.
Online self-paced video (Video CE)
Offers the exact same content as standard online self-paced
courses, but instead you’ll watch and listen as a recorded instructor walks you through course content. This is
the fastest way to take your course and only requires that you press play on each
Online self-paced (OSP)
This is a true self-paced course format. You will read and work
through a text-based course independently without help from an instructor.
Our fast-paced webinars are
taught by a live instructor. You'll have the chance to interact and ask
Not sure what training you need?
Our Smart Search course selector will tell you exactly what
CE to take.
Important details to know about
continuing education for licensed Mortgage Loan Originators.
MLO continuing education requirements
The NMLS states that all MLOs must
comply with the SAFE
Act (The Secure and Fair Enforcement for Mortgage Licensing Act), which requires MLOs with a state
license to complete continuing education each year. To start your continuing education training, you
will need your NMLS number.
To meet your mortgage CE requirements and maintain your mortgage license status,
you are required to complete a minimum 8 hours of NMLS-approved education covering these topics:
3 hours of federal law and regulations
2 hours of ethics, including instruction on fraud, consumer protection, and
2 hours of non-traditional mortgage lending
1 hour of undefined "electives" on mortgage origination
Continuing education deadlines
The NMLS recommends completing your 2022 CE according to these renewal deadlines:
SMART Deadline: December 9, 2022
At-Risk-To-Miss Deadline: December 16, 2022
Guaranteed To Miss Deadline: December 30, 2022
Some states have earlier recommended deadlines. To find your state-specific CE deadlines for 2022, visit our CE deadline page.
State-specific CE requirements
Some states require their own state-specific hourly requirements in addition to
national hours for continuing education, while other states do not require any state-specific CE
For example, Florida requires a 7 hour national CE course and 1 hour of Florida
state-specific training. Conversely, Colorado only requires an 8 hour national CE course to keep an
MLO license active in their state.
If you are licensed in multiple states, make sure to review your state requirements and follow your
Finding the right courses
It can be a hassle finding the right training to take to meet your CE hourly
requirements. That's why we created Smart Search, our intuitive course selector tool. Simply select the
state(s) you are licensed in and a required list of NMLS-approved CE courses will display
based on your selection.
We've got answers to the most commonly asked continuing education
Every state requires at least 8 hours of national NMLS-approved continuing education. Some states require additional hours specific to the state. To find out which continuing education courses you are required to take, use our Smart Search course selector, where you can enter the states you need CE for, and we’ll show you the exact courses needed to meet the minimum hourly requirements for the states you have chosen.
The SAFE Act does not permit licensed MLOs to complete the same course in two
successive renewals. Fortunately, we create new courses every year, meaning you'll always get
the most up-to-date education and you will never have to worry about whether or not you're
meeting the "successive years" rule.
Many states allow for a reinstatement period, typically from January 1 to
February 28. During this reinstatement period, you must complete continuing education
specifically approved by the NMLS as “Late CE”.
Our late CE courses are NMLS-approved and
are available for every state.
The NMLS requires all completed hours to be "banked" with the NMLS. OnCourse
Learning, as your NMLS-approved course provider, will submit your completion record to the NMLS
within seven days after you have finished your coursework and your session has ended. The NMLS
charges $1.50 per credit hour to "bank" your credit hours.
You can visit the NMLS website for assistance or call 855-665-7123, press option 2, then press option 1, to speak with
an NMLS representative.