New Jersey License Requirements

Get an understanding of mortgage lending and insurance state licensing and continuing education requirements

Course Search

New Jersey Mortgage License Requirements

Learn about the New Jersey mortgage education requirements for mortgage licensing.

In the state of New Jersey, mortgage loan originators are required to:

    1. Complete a state and federal Criminal Background Check (CBC).
    2. Authorize a credit report through the NMLS.
    3. Fulfill all state and federal education requirements as designated by your state agency.
    4. Take and pass a National Test.
    5. Satisfaction of character and fitness requirements.

New Jersey NMLS Pre-Licensing Education Requirements:

New state-licensed MLOs are required to complete 20 hours of NMLS-approved education. This includes:

  • 3 hours of federal law
  • 3 hours of ethics
  • 2 hours of non-traditional mortgage lending

8 hours of electives

  • 4 hours of New Jersey state-specific education

New Jersey Continuing Education Requirements:

State-licensed MLOs are required to complete 12 hours of NMLS-approved mortgage education annually beginning the year they are licensed (unless PE was completed in the same year). This includes:

  • 3 hours of federal law
  • 2 hours of ethics
  • 2 hours of non-traditional mortgage lending
  • 3 hours of electives
  • 2 hours of New Jersey state-specific education

MLOs are advised that to comply with the SAFE Act’s “successive years” rule, they may not take the same CE course two years in a row.

New Jersey Mortgage Licensing: 

NMLS Resources:

New Jersey Insurance License Requirements

Learn about the New Jersey insurance education requirements for insurance licensing.

To obtain a resident New Jersey insurance producer license you must complete the following steps:

  • Complete state-approved prelicense education. The required education hours per line of authority are:
    • 20 hours for a life license
    • 20 hours for a health license
    • 20 hours for a property license
    • 20 hours for a casualty license
  • Pass the PSI administered state licensing exam with a minimum score of 75%. You must complete the prelicense education prior to sitting for the licensing examination and your certificate of completion must be presented when arriving at the test center.
  • Submit electronic fingerprints through Live Scan.
  • Apply for the license electronically through the National Insurance Producer Registry (NIPR).

New Jersey Insurance State Exam Information:

New Jersey insurance license applicants must pass a computerized license examination administered by PSI, a national testing firm. To schedule an exam date and time, you can call them toll-free at (800) 733-9267 or visit their website. You must complete your prelicense education prior to sitting for examination. You must present your certificate of completion at the test center. You are encouraged to reserve your exam date at least three or four business days prior.

Take with you to the test center on examination day the following:

  • Your confirmation number
  • Proof of Completion of Prelicensing training
  • Two forms of current, government-issued signature identification, one of which must be photo-bearing and one must include your SSN.
  • Failing score report (if retaking an exam)

For more information, read PSI's complete Candidate Handbook, which includes details of all licensing requirements, exam reservation guidelines, and a list of all PSI test center locations and hours of operation. Scheduled test dates vary widely by location.

New Jersey Insurance Licensing FAQs: 

  • Is OnCourse Learning’s program approved to satisfy the education requirements to be licensed as a New Jersey Insurance Producer? OnCourse Learning’s New Jersey Insurance programs are approved by the New Jersey Department of Banking and Insurance to satisfy the education requirements to be licensed as a New Jersey Insurance Producer.
  • What do OnCourse Learning’s New Jersey Insurance programs include? OnCourse Learning’s online New Jersey Insurance programs include printable lessons, multi-media reviews, interactive exercises, quizzes and comprehensive exams. All the tools you need to prepare for the state exam are included!
  • Do I need to enroll in an exam prep course to prepare for my New Jersey Insurance Producer licensing exam? OnCourse Learning’s New Jersey Insurance programs include everything you need to pass your state licensing exam. However, if you want extra exam prep tools, OnCourse Learning online exam prep toolkits include additional practice exams, online flashcards, and recorded test-taking tips!
  • Once I enroll, when can I start studying for my New Jersey Insurance Producer license? Upon enrolling, you will have immediate access to your coursework. Simply log-in using your e-mail address and password and you can get started immediately. Best of all, you will have access to your course 24/7 and from any computer with an internet connection. You can work at home, at the office, wherever is the most convenient for you!
  • What if I have questions once I enroll in the New Jersey Insurance Producer program? OnCourse Learning’s attentive customer service staff and knowledgeable instructors are available to answer any questions you may have. We are available Monday-Friday, 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. PST at 1-800-299-2207.

New Jersey Insurance Continuing Education FAQs:

  • How many credit hours are required? A total of 24 credit hours, including 3 hours of Ethics, of approved continuing education are required.
  • Are there required courses if I want to sell or do sell annuities, long term care or flood insurance? Yes. There are additional courses required if you sell or wish to sell annuities, flood insurance or long-term care products. All states require licensees who sell flood insurance to complete a one-time course that is at least three hours in length.  Several states require courses to represent annuity products and long-term care products.
  • When does the requirement need to be met? CE is due every 2 years on the last day of your birth month. Your course work should be completed well before the expiration date to receive your renewed license in a timely manner.
  • Can excess credits be carried over from one license period to the next? No. Excess credits may not be carried over from one license period to the next.
  • May I duplicate a course? A duplicated course will only be awarded once towards your CE requirement. You may repeat the course as long as it is taken in different compliance periods.
  • Are OnCourse Learning’s continuing education courses approved to satisfy my New Jersey Insurance Producer continuing education requirements? Yes. OnCourse Learning’s New Jersey Insurance continuing education courses are approved to satisfy the education requirements to renew your New Jersey Insurance license. 
  • How do OnCourse Learning’s New Jersey Insurance continuing education courses work? OnCourse Learning’s approved New Jersey Insurance continuing education courses are offered online for your convenience. Once enrolled, your Table of Contents will serve as your roadmap for completing the course. You will be given access to lesson material, multimedia reviews, quizzes and a final exam. To demonstrate course completion, you will need to read the lesson material, pass all quizzes and pass the final exam.
  • Will I receive a certificate of completion immediately after completing the coursework? Yes. Upon completion of all course elements, you will immediately receive your certificate of completion. You may access your certificate of completion at any time by logging into your account.
  • Once I enroll, when can I access my New Jersey Insurance continuing education courses? Upon enrolling, you will have immediate access to your coursework. Simply log-in using your e-mail address and password and you can get started immediately. Best of all, you will have access to your course 24/7 and from any computer with an internet connection. You can work at home, at the office, wherever is the most convenient for you! 
  • What if I have questions once I enroll in the continuing education courses? OnCourse Learning’s attentive customer service staff and knowledgeable instructors are available to answer any questions you may have. We are available Monday-Friday, 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. PST at 1-800-299-2207.

New Jersey Insurance Licensing: More Information

For more information, please contact the New Jersey Division of Insurance at: