Wisconsin Mortgage License Requirements

Get an understanding of mortgage lending and insurance state licensing and continuing education requirements

Course Search

Wisconsin Mortgage License Requirements

Learn about the Wisconsin mortgage education requirements for mortgage licensing.

In the state of Wisconsin, mortgage loan originators are required to:

    1. Complete a Criminal Background Check (CBC).
    2. Authorize a credit report through the NMLS.
    3. Fulfill all state and federal education requirements as designated by your state agency.
    4. Take and pass a National Test.
    5. Regulatory Background: An applicant shall not have had a mortgage loan originator license revoked in any governmental jurisdiction, unless the revocation was subsequently and formally vacated.
    6. Company Association: A mortgage loan originator must act on behalf of a licensed mortgage banker or mortgage broker. Therefore, each mortgage loan originator must identify the mortgage banker or mortgage broker with whom he or she will be employed if a mortgage loan originator license is issued.

Wisconsin NMLS Pre-Licensing Education Requirements:

New state-licensed MLOs are required to complete 20 hours of NMLS-approved education. This includes:

  • 3 hours of federal law
  • 3 hours of ethics
  • 2 hours of non-traditional mortgage lending training
  • 12 hours of electives

Wisconsin Continuing Education Requirements:

State-licensed MLOs are required to complete 8 hours of NMLS-approved mortgage education annually beginning the year they are licensed (unless PE was completed in the same year). This includes:

  • 3 hours of federal law
  • 2 hours of ethics
  • 2 hours of non-traditional mortgage lending
  • 1 hour of electives

MLOs are advised that to comply with the SAFE Act’s “successive years” rule, they may not take the same CE course two years in a row.

Wisconsin Mortgage Licensing: 

NMLS Resources: