Kentucky License Requirements

Get an understanding of mortgage lending and insurance state licensing and continuing education requirements

Course Search

Kentucky Mortgage License Requirements

Learn about the Kentucky mortgage education requirements for mortgage licensing.

In the state of Kentucky, mortgage loan originators are required to:

    1. Complete a Criminal Background Check (CBC).
    2. Authorize a credit report through the NMLS.
    3. Fulfill all state and federal education requirements as designated by your state agency.
    4. Take and pass a National Test.
    5. Sponsorship.
    6. Surety bond coverage.

Kentucky NMLS Pre-Licensing Education Requirements:

New state-licensed MLOs are required to complete 20 hours of NMLS-approved education. This includes:

  • 3 hours of federal law
  • 3 hours of ethics
  • 2 hours of non-traditional mortgage lending training
  • 12 hours of electives

Note: MLOs are required to complete 8 hours of CE every year; the requirement to take 4 hours of KY-specific law is every other year. The first time the 4hrs of KY law is required is the first year immediately following licensing.

Kentucky Continuing Education Requirements:

State-licensed MLOs are required to complete 8 hours of NMLS-approved mortgage education annually beginning the year they are licensed (unless PE was completed in the same year). This includes:

  • 3 hours of federal law
  • 2 hours of ethics
  • 2 hours of non-traditional mortgage lending
  • 1 hour of Kentucky state-specific education

MLOs are advised that to comply with the SAFE Act’s “successive years” rule, they may not take the same CE course two years in a row.

Kentucky Mortgage Licensing:

NMLS Resources: