West Virginia NMLS-Approved Mortgage Continuing Education

Get started with your West Virginia mortgage loan officer CE online course today

Course Search
Choose the West Virginia NMLS-approved mortgage continuing education course that is right for you

Our NMLS-approved West Virginia mortgage loan originator (MLO) CE courses help you stay licensed and compliant. Our West Virginia 8-hour mortgage SAFE comprehensive course is designed specifically for West Virginia mortgage loan officers and is offered as an online, self-paced or audio course. 

9 Hour WV SAFE Comprehensive: Maintaining Mortgage Industry Awareness

SKU : 4303WV19000A00

Credit Hours | 9

Category | Comprehensive

$134.00

More Info

Maintaining Mortgage Industry Awareness provides a review of relevant issues facing mortgage loan originators today, specifically those outlined by NMLS as required topics for continuing education. Students will examine provisions of the Truth-in-Lending Act, the TILA-RESPA Integrated Disclosure Rule, and the Qualified Mortgage Rule, including issues related to considering the triggers, tolerances, and thresholds that enable loan originators to determine when disclosures are due and what information is required. In addition, students will take a look at the Real Estate Settlement Procedures Act, specifically rules related to lead agreements, marketing services agreements, co-marketing, desk licensing agreements, and affiliated business arrangements. Students will also review several nontraditional mortgage products, such as adjustable-rate mortgages and fixed-rate mortgages with terms of 15 and 40 years. Finally, students will review mortgage laws and regulations specific to the state of West Virginia. This course is NMLS-approved for nine hours of continuing education required for West Virginia mortgage loan originators, as specified by the S.A.F.E. Mortgage Licensing Act and West Virginia law. Annual S.A.F.E. Act continuing education requirements for West Virginia loan originators include three hours of federal law, two hours of ethics, two hours of nontraditional mortgage lending, and two hours of West Virginia-specific laws and regulations, for a total of nine hours.

2 Hour WV SAFE: West Virginia Mortgage Law Updates

SKU : 4303WV19500A00

Credit Hours | 2

Category | Elective

$44.00

More Info

This course will focus on the laws and rules that regulate mortgage loan originators, mortgage lenders, and brokers doing business in West Virginia. The topics included in this course are presented according to those outlined by the state as subjects that must be included in order to satisfy the continuing education requirements for mortgage loan originators. In Module 1, students will examine the authority of the West Virginia Division of Financial Institutions and important definitions under the law. Students will also review required conduct for mortgage licensees, including duties related to license renewal, tangible net benefit, disclosures, and repayment ability. In Module 2, students will review recordkeeping requirements, prohibited practices for licensees, and disciplinary actions, as well as the Good Funds Settlement Act.

 

 

Your Success is Our #1 Priority

OnCourse Learning empowers aspiring mortgage loan originators (MLOs) and seasoned mortgage loan officers to take their learning experience to the next level. Get and maintain your NMLS license with:

  • NMLS approved mortgage pre-licensing, continuing education and late CE courses
  • NMLS test prep tools to help you pass your NMLS license exam
  • Over 20 years of mortgage education experience

We’ve helped over 300,000 mortgage brokers begin and advance their careers. Get started today!

West Virginia Mortgage License Requirements

Learn about the West Virginia mortgage education requirements for mortgage licensing.

In the state of West Virginia, mortgage loan originators are required to:

  1. Complete a Criminal Background Check (CBC).
  2. Authorize a credit report through the NMLS.
  3. Fulfill all state and federal education requirements as designated by your state agency.
  4. Take and pass the National Test.
  5. Sufficient financial responsibility, character, and general fitness.
  6. Sponsorship by current employer.

West Virginia NMLS Pre-Licensing Education Requirements:

New state-licensed MLOs are required to complete 24 hours of NMLS-approved education. This includes:

  • 3 hours of federal law
  • 3 hours of ethics
  • 2 hours of non-traditional mortgage lending training
  • 12 hours of electives
  • 4 hours of West Virginia state-specific education

West Virginia Continuing Education Requirements:

State-licensed MLOs are required to complete 9 hours of NMLS-approved mortgage education annually beginning the year they are licensed (unless PE was completed in the same year). This includes:

  • 3 hours of federal law
  • 2 hours of ethics
  • 2 hours of non-traditional mortgage lending
  • 2 hours of West Virginia state-specific education 

MLOs are advised that to comply with the SAFE Act’s “successive years” rule, they may not take the same CE course two years in a row.

West Virginia Mortgage Licensing: 

NMLS Resources: